Roush elected Carroll commissioners president

Carroll County Commissioner Dave Roush will serve as president of the Board of County Commissioners as the commissioners serve the last year of their four-year terms.

Roush was elected Thursday during the commissioners' annual election of officers.

Commissioner Doug Howard, who has served as board president for the last three years, announced Nov. 25 that he would not seek re-election.

Besides running the county commissioner meetings, the board president essentially has no more authority or power than his fellow commissioners.

Commissioners Richard Rothschild and Robin Frazier were elected as board vice president and secretary, respectively.

The new positions are effective Dec. 6.

Commissioners will be up for re-election next year. Commissioner Haven Shoemaker has already announced that he is running for a seat in the House of Delegates, while Howard and Roush have already filed for re-election.

Copyright © 2017, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad