"I think it's terrific what Lee and the trustees have been able to do," Honey said. "It's great that there could be a Hall of Fame for sailing. It's wonderful for the sport."


Hall of Fame inductees

The 2012 inductees include four living honorees and five who have died. They were chosen by a selection committee from a list of 96 candidates.

The living inductees are:

•Stan Honey, 57, of Palo Alto, Calif., engineer, businessman and professional navigator who won the 2005-2006 Volvo Ocean Race and the 2010 Trophee Jules Verne

•Bruce Kirby, 83, of Rowayton, Conn., yacht designer

•John Kostecki, 48, of San Diego, silver medalist in the 1988 Olympics, America's Cup tactician and winning skipper in the Volvo Ocean Race

Mark Reynolds, 56, of San Diego, three-time Olympic medalist and two-time Star World champion

Posthumous inductees are:

•Peter Barrett of Madison, Wis., Olympic gold and silver medalist

•Bob Bavier of New Rochelle, N.Y., America's Cup competitor and journalist

•Gregg Bemis of Boston, sailing rules expert

•Rod Stephens of New York, yacht designer and Medal of Freedom winner

•John Cox Stevens of New York, a founder and first commodore of the New York Yacht Club

  • Text BUSINESS to 70701 to get Baltimore Sun Business text alerts