Bryn Mawr snaps Roland Park's IAAM tennis championship run

Mawrtian freshmen lead way to A Conference crown, Mount de Sales prevails in B

By Nelson Coffin, Baltimore Sun Media Group

8:34 PM EDT, October 24, 2013


Bryn Mawr and Mount de Sales claimed team championships at the Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland tournament on Thursday afternoon at McDonogh.

The undefeated Mawrtians (10-0) took the A Conference title behind its freshmen stars, Cameron Course, who fought off a challenge from Severn's Addie Hinton, 6-0, 6-1, in the No.1 singles and Lily Burchell, who edged McDonogh's Julie Lazer, 7-5, 7-5, for the No. 2 singles crown.

Severn took 2nd place in the A Conference team competition while Beth Tfiloh finished second in the B Conference behind the defending champion Sailors.

Bryn Mawr snapped Roland Park's four-year championship run with the victory.

John Carroll's Alex Martinez outlasted Mount de Sales' Chloe Boustany, 2-6, 6-4, 7-6 (7-5), to capture the No. 1 singles championship in a match that lasted three hours.

A Conference Team  — Bryn Mawr 16, Severn 14, McDonogh and Roland Park 12, Garrison Forest 5, Spalding and Park 4, St. Paul's School for Girls and NDP 3, Friends 2

B Conference Team — Mount de Sales 13, Beth Tfiloh 7, Glenelg and John Carroll 6, Oldfields, Pallotti and St. Timothy's 1