Hereford wrestling beats out Sparrows Point for Baltimore County tournament championship

Hereford wrestling won its fifth Baltimore County title in 11 years Saturday.

Hereford's outstanding depth was on display Saturday night at Perry Hall when the Bulls (172 points) topped runner-up Sparrows Point (161) and third-place Franklin (130), to claim their first Baltimore County championship since 2013 and their fifth overall in coach Ron Causey's 11-year tenure.

Nine Hereford wrestlers posted top-six finishes, including junior Khalil Rich (120 pounds) and senior Nick Blake (170), who captured individual titles.

Junior Jimmy Cavin was a finalist at 113.

“We had guys who were champions and finalists,” Causey said. “But we had a lot of other guys who chipped in. I think about Collin McNicholas, a five-seed coming in third, and Hunter Williams, a 10 seed in fourth, and Colin Whitney, a five seed coming in third. It’s important for the poorly-seeded guys to come through for you.”

Blake (28-4) beat Pikesville’s Zakir Muradov 33 seconds into overtime, 3-1, on a takedown to earn his title.

“He (Muradov) is the No. 1 (ranked) 1A-2A kid in the state,” Causey said of the Maryland State Wrestling Association rankings. “Nick wrestled a heck of a match.”

Rich (31-3) pinned Franklin’s Austin Widerman in 3:59.

Cavin, who placed fifth in the state last year at 106, was bidding to repeat as champion, but had to injury default (separated collarbone) to Owings Mills’ Tyson McDuffy (32-8).

David Hollingsworth (145) was the other champion for the Eagles.

Eastern Tech (Ryan Wagener, 106, Tyleigh Horton, 195) and Dundalk (Robert Doetsch, 152, Jeffrey Belt, 160) also produced two title winners.  

Kenwood senior Shane Chavis (138, 27-4), Doetsch (39-2), Hollingsworth (38-2), Franklin heavyweight Eric Ostrow (35-2) all repeated as champions.

Of the four, Hollingsworth was the most dominant in the final. He scored 16-8 major decision over Perry Hall’s Nikolas Georrgopalis.

Hollingsworth, who placed fifth in the state last year and sixth as a freshman, now boasts a career 105-13 record. 

The two-time regional champion is eager to beat Owings Mills' four-time state champion Steve Kessler’s career win mark of 148 victories, although Kessler went undefeated in high school.

“I starting thinking about it this year when I got over a 100 wins,” Hollingsworth said.

Chavis claimed his crown with a 9-3 conquest of Patapsco’s Kye Lynch while Doetsch  won by the same score over Franklin’s Philipe Shaidenfish.

Ostrow edged Western Tech’s Chukwudi Kalu, 6-5, when he was awarded a penalty point on an unsportsmanlike conduct call with 4.9 seconds remaining in the final period.

 “We had four guys in the finals and the first three lost,” Ostrow said. “So at least one guy had to bring a title back to school. It would have been a long ride home.”

Baltimore County wrestling tournament championship round

106- Ryan Wagener (ET) d. Mike Fouts (SP), 8-0

113- McDuffy (OM) injury def. Cavin (HER)

120- Rich (HER) p. Widerman (FRA), 3:59

126- Jarrad Martin (CAT) d. Max Hammon (SP), 5-1

132- Camryn Grindle (PH) d. Williams, 17-2

138- Chavis (KEN) d. Kye Lynch (PAT), 9-3

145- Hollingsworth (OM) d. Georgopalis (PH), 16-8

152- Doetsch (DUN) d. Shaidenfish (FRA), 9-3

160- Belt (DUN) d. Stern (FRA), 9-4

170- Blake (HER) d. Muradov (PIK), 3-1, OT

182- Johnson (WT) p. Hicks (PAT), 3:15

195- Horton (ET) d. Danie (MM), 3-2

220- Aliyev (PIK) p. Kareem (CAT), 3:11

285- Østrow (FRA) d. Kalu (WT), 6-5

Team scores

  1. Hereford 172
  2. Sparrowins Point 161
  3. Franklin 130
  4. Dundalk 129.5
  5. Catonsville 129
  6. Perry Hall 124
  7. Owings Mills 118
  8. Pikesville 73.5
  9. Eastern Tech 169
  10. Kenwood 68.5
Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad