The Louisiana State Medical Society installed its 130th president, Dr. Patrick C. Breaux of New Orleans, Louisiana, at the 2010 Annual Meeting of the House of Delegates held January 29-30 at the L'Auberge du Lac Casino Resort in Lake Charles.

"I would like to thank the membership of the LSMS in bestowing on me the honor of serving as President in 2010," said newly-inaugurated Dr. Breaux. "Having been given the privilege of the practice of medicine, I feel the need, as most of you here tonight, to give back."

During his inaugural address, Dr. Breaux shared his vision for the LSMS in 2010: "As a medical society we will need to anticipate and respond better to the changes in practice patterns and physician demographics by offering value to the professional lives of all physicians. As President, I want to focus on expanding membership; defending Act 817 and the medical malpractice cap; opposing any cuts in Medicaid and Medicare; and training our next generation of physicians to be effective leaders."

Dr. Patrick C. Breaux received his undergraduate degree from the University of Southwestern Louisiana and graduated from Tulane Medical School. He completed his internship and residency at Charity Hospital of New Orleans in internal medicine, followed by a fellowship in cardiology in 1975. Dr. Breaux maintained a private practice in eastern New Orleans and Chalmette until he was displaced by Hurricane Katrina in 2005. Currently, he serves as Section Head of Consultative Cardiology and Medical Director of Cardiology at Ochsner Hospital.

Dr. Breaux has been an active LSMS member since 1975, serving in several positions of leadership in recent years, including First District Councilor and as a member of both the Council on Member Services and the Council on Legislation. He has served the Orleans Parish Medical Society for many years on their Board of Directors, and was elected as their president in 2005. In addition to being a member of numerous national and local cardiology organizations, Dr. Breaux is an Associate Clinical Professor of Medicine at Tulane and at Louisiana State University New Orleans.