Arundel council deadlocks on Jones replacement

The Anne Arundel County Council deadlocked Thursday night over a vote to appoint a replacement for the seat vacated by former Councilman Daryl D. Jones.

With more than 100 rounds of council votes, the council remained tied on two candidates.

Republican Councilmen Derek Fink, of Pasadena; Councilman John J. Grasso, of Glen Burnie; and Councilman Richard B. "Dick" Ladd, of Broadneck, voted for former state Sen. Michael J. Wagner.

Democrats Jamie Benoit, of Crownsville; Chris Trumbauer, of Annapolis; and Republican Jerry Walker, of Gambrills, supported Marine Reservist Peter Smith.

After a four-and-a-half hour meeting, during which the council listened to five-minute opening statements from each of the 10 candidates and questioned them on various topics, the council elected to resume voting at 2 p.m. Tuesday.

Ten candidates applied for the seat to replace Jones, a Democrat, who began serving five months in federal prison on a single charge of failure of file a tax return.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad