Don’t miss the ultimate foodie event, The Baltimore Sun's Secret Supper

Burrows Scholars to be honored

On May 18, six local high school seniors, Alexandra Antonoplis, Kevin Hurlbutt, Nicholas Lupica, Megan Nathan, Daniel O'Leary and Mary Young will be presented as the 2010 recipients of the Christopher A. Burrows Memorial Scholarship.

Each Burrows Scholar will receive a $2,500 scholarship at the Chris Burrows Memorial dinner. The dinner will be held at the home of Cayce and Don Sheppard at 5:30 p.m.; it is preceded in the morning by a round-robin tennis tournament and lunch at the La Cañada Flintridge Country Club.

These students were chosen because of their high level of academic and extracurricular achievement, community involvement, strength of character and zest for life.

Alexandra Antonoplis, a senior at La Cañada High School, is a National Merit Finalist, AP Scholar and Golden State Merit Seal recipient. She was captain of the varsity tennis team and received All-Area Doubles MVP recognition in 2008 and 2009. Alex is an accomplished pianist who loves jazz and Romantic-era music, as well as composing songs. She has served as a volunteer tennis instructor for people with Down's syndrome. Alex will attend Pomona College, the late Chris Burrows' alma mater.

Kevin Hurlbutt, a senior at La Cañada High School, was a Boys Nation Senator, in addition to being a National Merit Finalist and AP Scholar. Kevin is an Eagle Scout, varsity football captain, active member of student government and co-president and co-founder of the Science Club. He also loves stage acting, most recently as Macbeth. He is a Sunday school teacher, teen leader and lector at St. Bede's. He will study at Stanford University in the fall.

Nicholas Lupica, a senior at St. Francis High School, is a St. Francis Scholar Award recipient, Science Fair winner, and a member of the California Scholarship Federation and National Honor Society. Nick is an Eagle Scout, and he played varsity basketball. He also volunteered at Comfort Zone Camp (a bereavement camp), Habitat for Humanity and Brother's Helpers. At St. Bede's, Nick serves as an usher and teen leader. He will attend Notre Dame University in the fall.

Megan Nathan, a senior at La Cañada High School, is a Hispanic National Merit Scholar, AP Scholar and recipient of the Wellesley College Book Award and Golden State Merit Seal. Megan has earned her Girl Scout Gold Award and a Rotary Club Art Award. She is an active member of student government, School Site Council and Bridge, a peer counseling organization. She plans on majoring in chemistry at USC.

Daniel O'Leary, a senior at Flintridge Preparatory School, is a National Merit Finalist, Cum Laude Society member and recipient of the Rensselaer Medal for Achievement in Math and Science. Daniel is the captain of the cross country/distance track team and student body treasurer. He is the founder and president of the Flintridge Prep Investment Club, as well as his own asset management company. He will attend Columbia University.

Mary Young, a senior at La Cañada High School, is an AP Scholar and a member of the California Scholarship Federation and National Honor Society. Mary is the student body president, as well as president of the School Site Council. She is also involved with Bridge, a peer counseling organization, and she teaches Sunday school. Mary played volleyball and basketball. She was a class president and blood drive organizer for the National Charity League. She will attend UC Davis in the fall.

For more information on the Christopher A. Burrows Memorial Scholarship or to make a donation, contact Edna Karinski at the Community Foundation of the Verdugos at (818) 241-8040.

Those wishing to play tennis or attend the dinner and scholarship award presentation are asked to contact Christine Burrows at cburrowsmemorial@sbcglobal.netor Tim McQuay at

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad