<i>By Scott Sandell, Los Angeles Times staff writer</i><br>
<br>
The release of thousands of secret <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORGOV000016138" title="U.S. Embassy" href="/topic/politics/diplomacy/u.s.-embassy-ORGOV000016138.topic">U.S. Embassy</a> diplomatic cables via <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB0000011155" title="Julian Assange" href="/topic/arts-culture/mass-media/julian-assange-PECLB0000011155.topic">Julian Assange</a>'s <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORNPR0000050" title="WikiLeaks" href="/topic/arts-culture/mass-media/news-media/wikileaks-ORNPR0000050.topic">WikiLeaks</a> has ignited a firestorm of controversy as it lays bare the inner workings of American diplomacy. But who would have thought the cables would also invoke " <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ENMV000003275" title="The Godfather (movie)" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/the-godfather-%28movie%29-ENMV000003275.topic">The Godfather</a>," "Desperate Housewives," <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB002548" title="Michael Jackson" href="/topic/entertainment/music/michael-jackson-PECLB002548.topic">Michael Jackson</a>, "<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEFCC000028" title="Harry Potter (fictional character)" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/harry-potter-%28fictional-character%29-PEFCC000028.topic">Harry Potter</a>" and a slew of other entertainment and arts references?<br>
<br>
At some level, it should come as no surprise, since at the center of <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVHST0000258" title="U.S. Diplomatic Cables Leak (2010)" href="/topic/politics/u.s.-diplomatic-cables-leak-%282010%29-EVHST0000258.topic">Cablegate</a> is none other than <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB0017764580" title="Lady Gaga" href="/topic/entertainment/music/lady-gaga-PECLB0017764580.topic">Lady Gaga</a>. That's because Army <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEOCVC0000102" title="Bradley Manning" href="/topic/crime-law-justice/crime/bradley-manning-PEOCVC0000102.topic">Pfc. Bradley Manning</a>, who has been charged with illegally downloading information including <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORGOV000000150" title="U.S. Department of State" href="/topic/politics/government/u.s.-department-of-state-ORGOV000000150.topic">State Department</a> cables, explained his modus operandi thusly: "I would come in with music on a CD-RW labeled with something like "Lady Gaga" ... erase the music ... then write a compressed split file. No one suspected a thing."<br>
<br>
Who else rates a mention within the United States' diplomatic corps? Read on.
lat-wiki-gaga_kx5ebcnc20101210115533

( Left: Lawrence K. Ho, Los Angeles Times; right: Dan Kitwood/Getty Images )

By Scott Sandell, Los Angeles Times staff writer

The release of thousands of secret U.S. Embassy diplomatic cables via Julian Assange's WikiLeaks has ignited a firestorm of controversy as it lays bare the inner workings of American diplomacy. But who would have thought the cables would also invoke " The Godfather," "Desperate Housewives," Michael Jackson, "Harry Potter" and a slew of other entertainment and arts references?

At some level, it should come as no surprise, since at the center of Cablegate is none other than Lady Gaga. That's because Army Pfc. Bradley Manning, who has been charged with illegally downloading information including State Department cables, explained his modus operandi thusly: "I would come in with music on a CD-RW labeled with something like "Lady Gaga" ... erase the music ... then write a compressed split file. No one suspected a thing."

Who else rates a mention within the United States' diplomatic corps? Read on.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun