2000-01 Lakers

<b>2000-01 Lakers</b><br>
<br>
<u>56-26, First in Pacific Division</u><br>
<br>
Defeated <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" ORSPT000210" title="Philadelphia 76ers" href="/topic/sports/basketball/philadelphia-76ers-ORSPT000210.topic">Philadelphia 76ers</a> in <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" 15008001" title="NBA" href="/topic/sports/basketball/nba-15008001.topic">NBA</a> Finals, 4-1<br>
<br>
<b>Head Coach</b>: <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PEHST001003" title="Phil Jackson" href="/topic/sports/basketball/phil-jackson-PEHST001003.topic">Phil Jackson</a><br>
<br>
<b>Key Moments</b>:<br>
<br>
1. Lakers win their final eight games to win the Pacific Division title for the second consecutive year.<br>
<br>
2. Lakers sweep their first three opponents in the playoffs (Portland, 3-0; Sacramento, 4-0; San Antonio, 4-0).<br>
<br>
3. After defeating the 76ers in the NBA Finals in five games, Lakers set the postseason record for highest winning percentage (15-1, .938).<br>
<br>
4. Phil Jackson becomes the first coach to lead two teams to multiple NBA titles.<br>
<br>
5. <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PESPT002989" title="Ron Harper" href="/topic/sports/basketball/ron-harper-PESPT002989.topic">Ron Harper</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PESPT003350" title="Robert Horry" href="/topic/sports/basketball/robert-horry-PESPT003350.topic">Robert Horry</a> become the second and third players to win multiple championships as a member of two teams.<br>
<br>
<b>Standing, left to right (players only)</b>: <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PESPT004484" title="Tyronn Lue" href="/topic/sports/basketball/tyronn-lue-PESPT004484.topic">Tyronn Lue</a>, Mike Penberthy, Ron Harper, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PESPT002361" title="Rick Fox" href="/topic/sports/basketball/rick-fox-PESPT002361.topic">Rick Fox</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PESPT000948" title="Kobe Bryant" href="/topic/sports/basketball/kobe-bryant-PESPT000948.topic">Kobe Bryant</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PESPT006659" title="Brian Shaw" href="/topic/sports/basketball/brian-shaw-PESPT006659.topic">Brian Shaw</a>, J.R. Rider, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PESPT002275" title="Derek Fisher" href="/topic/sports/basketball/derek-fisher-PESPT002275.topic">Derek Fisher</a>.<br>
<br>
<b>Seated, left to right (players only)</b>: <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PESPT002533" title="Devean George" href="/topic/sports/basketball/devean-george-PESPT002533.topic">Devean George</a>, Slava Medvedenko, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PESPT002347" title="Greg Foster" href="/topic/sports/basketball/greg-foster-PESPT002347.topic">Greg Foster</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PESPT008523" title="Shaquille O'Neal" href="/topic/sports/basketball/shaquille-oneal-PESPT008523.topic">Shaquille O'Neal</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PESPT002726" title="Horace Grant" href="/topic/sports/basketball/horace-grant-PESPT002726.topic">Horace Grant</a>, Robert Horry, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PESPT004551" title="Mark Madsen" href="/topic/sports/basketball/mark-madsen-PESPT004551.topic">Mark Madsen</a>.
lat-sp-lakers0001

2000-01 Lakers

56-26, First in Pacific Division

Defeated Philadelphia 76ers in NBA Finals, 4-1

Head Coach: Phil Jackson

Key Moments:

1. Lakers win their final eight games to win the Pacific Division title for the second consecutive year.

2. Lakers sweep their first three opponents in the playoffs (Portland, 3-0; Sacramento, 4-0; San Antonio, 4-0).

3. After defeating the 76ers in the NBA Finals in five games, Lakers set the postseason record for highest winning percentage (15-1, .938).

4. Phil Jackson becomes the first coach to lead two teams to multiple NBA titles.

5. Ron Harper and Robert Horry become the second and third players to win multiple championships as a member of two teams.

Standing, left to right (players only): Tyronn Lue, Mike Penberthy, Ron Harper, Rick Fox, Kobe Bryant, Brian Shaw, J.R. Rider, Derek Fisher.

Seated, left to right (players only): Devean George, Slava Medvedenko, Greg Foster, Shaquille O'Neal, Horace Grant, Robert Horry, Mark Madsen.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun