'A Special Day' (1977)

<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003047" title="Sophia Loren" href="/topic/entertainment/sophia-loren-PECLB003047.topic">Sophia Loren</a> costars with <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003143" title="Marcello Mastroianni" href="/topic/entertainment/marcello-mastroianni-PECLB003143.topic">Marcello Mastroianni</a>, left, in Ettore Scola's "A Special Day." The <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO000004" title="Italy" href="/topic/international/italy-PLGEO000004.topic">Italian</a>-language film was set in <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEHST001430" title="Benito Mussolini" href="/topic/arts-culture/benito-mussolini-PEHST001430.topic">Benito Mussolini</a>'s Italy when the former leader first met <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB002403" title="Adolf Hitler" href="/topic/politics/adolf-hitler-PECLB002403.topic">Adolf Hitler</a>. Loren's fascist husband goes off to witness the occasion and she befriends her homosexual neighbor played by Mastroianni, who went on to be nominated for a best actor Oscar for the role. The film won a <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVHST0000228" title="Golden Globe Awards" href="/topic/entertainment/golden-globe-awards-EVHST0000228.topic">Golden Globe</a> for best foreign language film and was also in the running for the same category at the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVHST000005" title="Academy Awards" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/academy-awards-EVHST000005.topic">Academy Awards</a>.
lat-sloren-spec_eayonpgw20110503140841

( Unknown )

Sophia Loren costars with Marcello Mastroianni, left, in Ettore Scola's "A Special Day." The Italian-language film was set in Benito Mussolini's Italy when the former leader first met Adolf Hitler. Loren's fascist husband goes off to witness the occasion and she befriends her homosexual neighbor played by Mastroianni, who went on to be nominated for a best actor Oscar for the role. The film won a Golden Globe for best foreign language film and was also in the running for the same category at the Academy Awards.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery