Ghostbusters

<b>'Ghostbusters'</b> (1984)<br>
<br>
 <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB004143" title="Bill Murray" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/bill-murray-PECLB004143.topic">Bill Murray</a>, left, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB000285" title="Dan Aykroyd" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/dan-aykroyd-PECLB000285.topic">Dan Aykroyd</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB004169" title="Harold Ramis" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/harold-ramis-PECLB004169.topic">Harold Ramis</a> (and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB002460" title="Ernie Hudson" href="/topic/entertainment/ernie-hudson-PECLB002460.topic">Ernie Hudson</a>! Don't forget Ernie Hudson!) turned paranormal investigation and elimination into big-time '80s capitalist bucks. They also buried half of Midtown <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100100804010000" title="Manhattan (New York City)" href="/topic/us/new-york/new-york-city/manhattan-%28new-york-city%29-PLGEO100100804010000.topic">Manhattan</a> under a fine coating of supernatural marshmallow in the process.<br>
<br>
<b>Typical villain:</b> Ancient Sumerian gods.<br>
<br>
<b>Abilities:</b> Unlicensed nuclear "proton packs" and hi-tech "traps" to catch ectoplasm. They also have a great ability to ad-lib one-liners.<br>
<br>
<b>Longevity:</b> Two hit movies and 140 half-hour animated episodes. A spinoff series had 40 episodes. A third movie from the writers of " <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ENTTV00000045" title="The Office (tv program)" href="/topic/entertainment/television/the-office-%28tv-program%29-ENTTV00000045.topic">The Office</a>" is in the works.
lat-parabusters_drf7t5gy20080908120508

( Columbia Pictures )

'Ghostbusters' (1984)

Bill Murray, left, Dan Aykroyd and Harold Ramis (and Ernie Hudson! Don't forget Ernie Hudson!) turned paranormal investigation and elimination into big-time '80s capitalist bucks. They also buried half of Midtown Manhattan under a fine coating of supernatural marshmallow in the process.

Typical villain: Ancient Sumerian gods.

Abilities: Unlicensed nuclear "proton packs" and hi-tech "traps" to catch ectoplasm. They also have a great ability to ad-lib one-liners.

Longevity: Two hit movies and 140 half-hour animated episodes. A spinoff series had 40 episodes. A third movie from the writers of " The Office" is in the works.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun