'World Trade Center' (2006)

After the Oscar flop "Alexander," three-time Academy Award winner <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003785" title="Oliver Stone" href="/topic/entertainment/oliver-stone-PECLB003785.topic">Oliver Stone</a> delivered another Oscar flop: "World Trade Center." But unlike "Alexander," this one wasn't truly a disaster movie. "World Trade Center" was actually moderately successful. Produced for $65 million, it received generally favorable reviews and earned back $70 million in <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORGOV0000001" title="United States" href="/topic/politics/government/national-government/united-states-ORGOV0000001.topic">the U.S.</a><br>
<br>
The film won the Movie of the Year Award at the Hollywood Film Festival. With Academy Award winner <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB000798" title="Nicolas Cage" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/nicolas-cage-PECLB000798.topic">Nicolas Cage</a> and two-time Golden Globe nominee <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB000429" title="Maria Bello" href="/topic/entertainment/maria-bello-PECLB000429.topic">Maria Bello</a>, it should have been a big Oscar player. But voters weren't in the mood for movies about the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVHST000001" title="September 11, 2001 Attacks" href="/topic/unrest-conflicts-war/terrorism/september-11-2001-attacks-EVHST000001.topic">9/11</a> tragedy. Even though "United 93" claimed some top critics' awards (including best picture from the New York circle), the best it did at the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVHST000005" title="Academy Awards" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/academy-awards-EVHST000005.topic">Oscars</a> was a director's nomination for <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB002086" title="Paul Greengrass" href="/topic/entertainment/paul-greengrass-PECLB002086.topic">Paul Greengrass</a> and one for editing. It lost both. <i>-- T.O. and Hey, Jude!</i>
lat-oscardud10_j3ebj4nc20090127125011

( Fran├žois Duhamel )

After the Oscar flop "Alexander," three-time Academy Award winner Oliver Stone delivered another Oscar flop: "World Trade Center." But unlike "Alexander," this one wasn't truly a disaster movie. "World Trade Center" was actually moderately successful. Produced for $65 million, it received generally favorable reviews and earned back $70 million in the U.S.

The film won the Movie of the Year Award at the Hollywood Film Festival. With Academy Award winner Nicolas Cage and two-time Golden Globe nominee Maria Bello, it should have been a big Oscar player. But voters weren't in the mood for movies about the 9/11 tragedy. Even though "United 93" claimed some top critics' awards (including best picture from the New York circle), the best it did at the Oscars was a director's nomination for Paul Greengrass and one for editing. It lost both. -- T.O. and Hey, Jude!

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun