Adam's Rib

<B>“Adam’s Rib”</B><br>
<br>
<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB002347" title="Katharine Hepburn" href="/topic/entertainment/katharine-hepburn-PECLB002347.topic">Katharine Hepburn</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003858" title="Spencer Tracy" href="/topic/entertainment/spencer-tracy-PECLB003858.topic">Spencer Tracy</a> take <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100100804010000" title="Manhattan (New York City)" href="/topic/us/new-york/new-york-city/manhattan-%28new-york-city%29-PLGEO100100804010000.topic">Manhattan</a> in this sparkling 1949 comedy penned by <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB002016" title="Ruth Gordon" href="/topic/entertainment/ruth-gordon-PECLB002016.topic">Ruth Gordon</a> (“Rosemary’s Baby”) and hubby <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB002689" title="Garson Kanin" href="/topic/entertainment/garson-kanin-PECLB002689.topic">Garson Kanin</a> and directed by the always dependable <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001215" title="George Cukor" href="/topic/entertainment/george-cukor-PECLB001215.topic">George Cukor</a>. Gordon and Kanin received an Oscar nomination for their screenplay, which featured such witty, sophisticated lines as “Lawyers should never marry other lawyers. This is called inbreeding, from which comes idiot children and more lawyers.”<br>
<br>
Tracy and Hepburn play successful New York attorneys Adam and Amanda Bonner, who end up on the opposite sides of a controversial case involving a ditsy housewife (<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB002416" title="Judy Holliday" href="/topic/entertainment/judy-holliday-PECLB002416.topic">Judy Holliday</a> in her first major film role) who is put on trial for attempted murder after she shoots her philandering husband. Adam and Amanda soon find that this sensational case examining the double standard between the sexes is spilling into their “perfect” domestic life. “Adam’s Rib” was shot nearly entirely on location in New York, giving the scenes on the streets of the Big Apple almost a documentary feel.
lat-ny9_dmbh4lgw20080527150303

“Adam’s Rib”

Katharine Hepburn and Spencer Tracy take Manhattan in this sparkling 1949 comedy penned by Ruth Gordon (“Rosemary’s Baby”) and hubby Garson Kanin and directed by the always dependable George Cukor. Gordon and Kanin received an Oscar nomination for their screenplay, which featured such witty, sophisticated lines as “Lawyers should never marry other lawyers. This is called inbreeding, from which comes idiot children and more lawyers.”

Tracy and Hepburn play successful New York attorneys Adam and Amanda Bonner, who end up on the opposite sides of a controversial case involving a ditsy housewife (Judy Holliday in her first major film role) who is put on trial for attempted murder after she shoots her philandering husband. Adam and Amanda soon find that this sensational case examining the double standard between the sexes is spilling into their “perfect” domestic life. “Adam’s Rib” was shot nearly entirely on location in New York, giving the scenes on the streets of the Big Apple almost a documentary feel.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun