Spike Lee

Writer-director <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB004221" title="Spike Lee" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/spike-lee-PECLB004221.topic">Spike Lee</a> is courting controversy once again after a Q&A he conducted for his new film, "<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100100802015600" title="Red Hook" href="/topic/us/new-york/new-york-city/brooklyn-%28new-york-city%29/red-hook-PLGEO100100802015600.topic">Red Hook</a> Summer," at the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVFES0000051" title="Sundance Film Festival" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/film-festivals/sundance-film-festival-EVFES0000051.topic">Sundance Film Festival</a>. Taking questions from the crowd, Lee opened up on the major Hollywood studios, saying that they <a href="http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/movies/2012/01/sundance-film-festival-spike-lee-red-hook-summer.html">"know nothing about black people."</a> Though the comments are getting a lot of attention, especially after <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003061" title="George Lucas" href="/topic/entertainment/george-lucas-PECLB003061.topic">George Lucas</a>' comments last week about how the studios declined to produce his all-black <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVHST00000110" title="World War II (1939-1945)" href="/topic/unrest-conflicts-war/wars-interventions/world-war-ii-%281939-1945%29-EVHST00000110.topic">World War II</a> <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="GENRE000062" title="Drama (genre)" href="/topic/arts-culture/genres/drama-%28genre%29-GENRE000062.topic">drama</a> <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ENMV0001928" title="Red Tails (movie)" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/red-tails-%28movie%29-ENMV0001928.topic">"Red Tails"</a> were contrasted with the surprisingly strong box office numbers the film turned in, this kind of statement is nothing new for Lee. He's been opining on Hollywood and other filmmakers for nearly as long as he's been making movies.<br>
<br>
For those who have lost track, here are some of the highlights of over two decades of Spike Lee.
lat-leecannes_k7m43anc20120123113217

( Jennifer S. Altman / For The Times )

Writer-director Spike Lee is courting controversy once again after a Q&A he conducted for his new film, "Red Hook Summer," at the Sundance Film Festival. Taking questions from the crowd, Lee opened up on the major Hollywood studios, saying that they "know nothing about black people." Though the comments are getting a lot of attention, especially after George Lucas' comments last week about how the studios declined to produce his all-black World War II drama "Red Tails" were contrasted with the surprisingly strong box office numbers the film turned in, this kind of statement is nothing new for Lee. He's been opining on Hollywood and other filmmakers for nearly as long as he's been making movies.

For those who have lost track, here are some of the highlights of over two decades of Spike Lee.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery