Jean Harlow (1911-1937)

Blonde-haired beauty <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB002219" title="Jean Harlow" href="/topic/entertainment/jean-harlow-PECLB002219.topic">Jean Harlow</a> made a name for herself as a silver-screen sex symbol during the 1930s. Health problems cut her life short at age 26, but  in her near-decade on the big screen, she received critical acclaim for her alluring and comedic big-screen roles, making a slate of films including three with <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003858" title="Spencer Tracy" href="/topic/entertainment/spencer-tracy-PECLB003858.topic">Spencer Tracy</a> and six with <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001836" title="Clark Gable" href="/topic/entertainment/clark-gable-PECLB001836.topic">Clark Gable</a>. She was the first blond bombshell, setting the mold for the likes of <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003112" title="Jayne Mansfield" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/jayne-mansfield-PECLB003112.topic">Jayne Mansfield</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003873" title="Lana Turner" href="/topic/entertainment/lana-turner-PECLB003873.topic">Lana Turner</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003245" title="Marilyn Monroe" href="/topic/entertainment/marilyn-monroe-PECLB003245.topic">Marilyn Monroe</a>.
lat-jh-catalina_lh01fjnc20110801143445

( 'Harlow in Hollywood' / © 2011 Angel City Press )

Blonde-haired beauty Jean Harlow made a name for herself as a silver-screen sex symbol during the 1930s. Health problems cut her life short at age 26, but in her near-decade on the big screen, she received critical acclaim for her alluring and comedic big-screen roles, making a slate of films including three with Spencer Tracy and six with Clark Gable. She was the first blond bombshell, setting the mold for the likes of Jayne Mansfield, Lana Turner and Marilyn Monroe.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun