Cannes lines up

The big May fest in the south of France unveiled its lineup for this year and of the 16 films screening in competition, only one is from the U.S. That's "Fair Game," the movie about U.S. ambassador Joe Wilson and his wife, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB005433" title="Valerie Plame Wilson" href="/topic/politics/valerie-plame-wilson-PECLB005433.topic">Valerie Plame</a>, running afoul of the Bush administration in the run-up to the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVHST000043" title="Iraq War (2003-2011)" href="/topic/unrest-conflicts-war/wars-interventions/iraq-war-%282003-2011%29-EVHST000043.topic">Iraq war</a>. <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003397" title="Sean Penn" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/sean-penn-PECLB003397.topic">Sean Penn</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB005385" title="Naomi Watts" href="/topic/entertainment/naomi-watts-PECLB005385.topic">Naomi Watts</a> play the couple. But Hollywood isn't crying too hard, after all they also have the opening night movie: " <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT003330" title="Robin Hood" href="/topic/sports/robin-hood-PESPT003330.topic">Robin Hood</a>," starring <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001206" title="Russell Crowe" href="/topic/entertainment/russell-crowe-PECLB001206.topic">Russell Crowe</a> as the prince of thieves. Judging from the trailers, this one won't feature any <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB000014" title="Bryan Adams" href="/topic/entertainment/music/bryan-adams-PECLB000014.topic">Bryan Adams</a> ballads. But it could always surprise us. <a href="http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/news/la-et-0416-cannes-20100416,0,4302354.story"><b>Click for more Cannes.</b></a>
lat-hedlines6_kw5gbinc20100416113517

( David Appleby / Universal Pictures )

The big May fest in the south of France unveiled its lineup for this year and of the 16 films screening in competition, only one is from the U.S. That's "Fair Game," the movie about U.S. ambassador Joe Wilson and his wife, Valerie Plame, running afoul of the Bush administration in the run-up to the Iraq war. Sean Penn and Naomi Watts play the couple. But Hollywood isn't crying too hard, after all they also have the opening night movie: " Robin Hood," starring Russell Crowe as the prince of thieves. Judging from the trailers, this one won't feature any Bryan Adams ballads. But it could always surprise us. Click for more Cannes.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun