Shampoo

“Shampoo”<br>
<br>
Supposedly <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB000403" title="Warren Beatty" href="/topic/entertainment/warren-beatty-PECLB000403.topic">Warren Beatty</a>’s womanizing <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100100102380800" title="Beverly Hills" href="/topic/us/california/los-angeles-county/los-angeles/beverly-hills-PLGEO100100102380800.topic">Beverly Hills</a> hairdresser George is actually based on real hairdressers Jay Sebring, who was murdered along with <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003820" title="Sharon Tate" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/sharon-tate-PECLB003820.topic">Sharon Tate</a> and others by the Manson Family in 1969, and Jon Peters, who is now a well-known film producer. Beatty co-wrote and stars in this 1975 classic comedy of sexual morality and mores revolving around a 24-hour period on the eve of the 1968 presidential election.<br>
<br>
Beatty’s preening George, who never goes anywhere without his blow-dryer, barely has enough time to cut hair because of all of the women in his life including his sweet current girlfriend Jill (<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB002278" title="Goldie Hawn" href="/topic/entertainment/goldie-hawn-PECLB002278.topic">Goldie Hawn</a>), Jackie (<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB000988" title="Julie Christie" href="/topic/entertainment/julie-christie-PECLB000988.topic">Julie Christie</a>) his former girlfriend who is now the mistress of the wealthy Lester (Jack Warden) whose wife Felicia (<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB002054" title="Lee Grant" href="/topic/entertainment/lee-grant-PECLB002054.topic">Lee Grant</a> in her Oscar-winning turn) is George’s current mistress. Whew! And then he also manages to have a dalliance with Felicia and Lester’s teenage daughter played by pre-“Star Wars” <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001702" title="Carrie Fisher" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/carrie-fisher-PECLB001702.topic">Carrie Fisher</a>. The blunt cut de resistance is <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003702" title="Paul Simon" href="/topic/entertainment/music/paul-simon-PECLB003702.topic">Paul Simon</a>’s minimalist score, topped with the Beach Boy’s “Wouldn’t It Be Nice” at the ironic fade out.
lat-hair6_ep9sppgy20080604093419

( Columbia Pictures )

“Shampoo”

Supposedly Warren Beatty’s womanizing Beverly Hills hairdresser George is actually based on real hairdressers Jay Sebring, who was murdered along with Sharon Tate and others by the Manson Family in 1969, and Jon Peters, who is now a well-known film producer. Beatty co-wrote and stars in this 1975 classic comedy of sexual morality and mores revolving around a 24-hour period on the eve of the 1968 presidential election.

Beatty’s preening George, who never goes anywhere without his blow-dryer, barely has enough time to cut hair because of all of the women in his life including his sweet current girlfriend Jill (Goldie Hawn), Jackie (Julie Christie) his former girlfriend who is now the mistress of the wealthy Lester (Jack Warden) whose wife Felicia (Lee Grant in her Oscar-winning turn) is George’s current mistress. Whew! And then he also manages to have a dalliance with Felicia and Lester’s teenage daughter played by pre-“Star Wars” Carrie Fisher. The blunt cut de resistance is Paul Simon’s minimalist score, topped with the Beach Boy’s “Wouldn’t It Be Nice” at the ironic fade out.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun