The Women

“The Women”<br>
<br>
With Diane English’s remake of the famed Claire Booth Luce comedy to hit theaters in September, it’s fun to check out this classy 1939 film version directed by the great <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001215" title="George Cukor" href="/topic/entertainment/george-cukor-PECLB001215.topic">George Cukor</a> and featuring a who’s who of top female stars of the day including <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003678" title="Norma Shearer" href="/topic/entertainment/norma-shearer-PECLB003678.topic">Norma Shearer</a>, left, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001183" title="Joan Crawford" href="/topic/entertainment/joan-crawford-PECLB001183.topic">Joan Crawford</a>, center, and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003599" title="Rosalind Russell" href="/topic/entertainment/rosalind-russell-PECLB003599.topic">Rosalind Russell</a>, right, and such up-and-comers as <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001961" title="Paulette Goddard" href="/topic/entertainment/paulette-goddard-PECLB001961.topic">Paulette Goddard</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001747" title="Joan Fontaine" href="/topic/entertainment/joan-fontaine-PECLB001747.topic">Joan Fontaine</a>. A lot of the action is set in the fancy beauty salon frequented by “the women” in question who can’t help but gossiping about their friends and their friends’ husbands. The film also offers a funny glimpse at beauty salon life back in the 1930s  — just check out those contraptions used to perm hair.
lat-hair11_dmbffjgw20080604094000

( MGM )

“The Women”

With Diane English’s remake of the famed Claire Booth Luce comedy to hit theaters in September, it’s fun to check out this classy 1939 film version directed by the great George Cukor and featuring a who’s who of top female stars of the day including Norma Shearer, left, Joan Crawford, center, and Rosalind Russell, right, and such up-and-comers as Paulette Goddard and Joan Fontaine. A lot of the action is set in the fancy beauty salon frequented by “the women” in question who can’t help but gossiping about their friends and their friends’ husbands. The film also offers a funny glimpse at beauty salon life back in the 1930s — just check out those contraptions used to perm hair.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun