'To Be Or Not To Be'

Which is funnier, that is the question: The 1942 <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003041" title="Carole Lombard" href="/topic/entertainment/carole-lombard-PECLB003041.topic">Carole Lombard</a>- <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB000457" title="Jack Benny" href="/topic/entertainment/jack-benny-PECLB000457.topic">Jack Benny</a> original (pictured here) or 1983's <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB000692" title="Mel Brooks" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/mel-brooks-PECLB000692.topic">Mel Brooks</a>- <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB000331" title="Anne Bancroft" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/anne-bancroft-PECLB000331.topic">Anne Bancroft</a> remake? Both versions about actors impersonating and hiding out from Hitler and his troops in <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVHST00000110" title="World War II (1939-1945)" href="/topic/unrest-conflicts-war/wars-interventions/world-war-ii-%281939-1945%29-EVHST00000110.topic">World War II</a> Poland stick to the same gag: <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORCIG00000044" title="Nazi Party" href="/topic/politics/parties-movements/nazi-party-ORCIG00000044.topic">Nazis</a> are dumb sheep who blindly follow orders, we're smart. Therefore, we win. Gets 'em every time.<BR><BR>
RELATED:<BR>
<a href="http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/news/movies/la-et-basterds25-2009aug25,0,1981215.story">
'Inglourious Basterds' defies summer wisdom</a>
lat-et_tobeorno_fj3kv6gy20090824155119

( Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences )

Which is funnier, that is the question: The 1942 Carole Lombard- Jack Benny original (pictured here) or 1983's Mel Brooks- Anne Bancroft remake? Both versions about actors impersonating and hiding out from Hitler and his troops in World War II Poland stick to the same gag: Nazis are dumb sheep who blindly follow orders, we're smart. Therefore, we win. Gets 'em every time.

RELATED:
'Inglourious Basterds' defies summer wisdom

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun