Marco Andretti among drivers committed to electric-car race series

By Jim Peltz

Formula E, a proposed series featuring electric-powered race cars competing in cities around the globe, said Wednesday eight drivers had committed to the series, including IndyCar driver Marco Andretti.

The series plans 10 races over several months, starting with a race in Beijing in mid-September and ending with a race in London on June 27, 2015.

The sixth race is scheduled for Los Angeles on Feb. 14, 2015, although the race's exact location in the city has yet to be determined.

The cars would be true race cars, roughly similar in size and shape to those in the IndyCar series. Formula E also is sanctioned by the FIA, the governing body of the Formula One racing series.

Andretti's selection was not surprising given that his family's race team, Andretti Autosport, already had signed up to race in Formula E.

"I'm not entirely sure what to expect but, for me, that is the most interesting part of this experience -- the unknown factor," Andretti said in a statement. "I'm really looking forward to getting into the cockpit of one of these cars."

The initial group of drivers also includes Takuma Sato of Japan, who also drives in the IndyCar series for A.J. Foyt Racing.

The others are Sebastien Buemi of Switzerland, Karun Chandhok of India, Vitantonio Liuzzi of Italy, Lucas di Grassi of Brazil, Ma Qing Hua of China and Adrien Tambay of France.


Lindsey Vonn says she will miss Sochi Olympics

Florida State championship T-shirt had Auburn winning game

Anderson Silva tells UFC president that he wants to fight again


Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad