UCLA vs. Tulsa: Facts & figures

UCLA begins play in its 46th NCAA tournament Friday when it takes on Tulsa in San Diego in the second round of the South Regional. Here are a few facts and figures about the Bruins, the Golden Hurricane and the tournament:


• The Bruins are seeded fourth, their highest seeding since they were a No. 1 seed in 2008. The last time the Bruins were seeded fourth was 1995-96, the season after they won their last NCAA title. They lost to Princeton in the first round, 43-41. Tulsa, a No. 13 seed, is making its 15th tournament appearance and first since 2003.


UCLA Coach Steve Alford won the NCAA title as a player with Indiana in 1987. Tulsa Coach Danny Manning won the NCAA title the following year playing for Kansas. Only Bob Knight, Dean Smith and Joe B. Hall have won NCAA championships as a player and coach.


Tulsa boasts Rue McClanahan, Phillip "Dr. Phil" McGraw and Paul Harvey as its most famous celebrity alumni. UCLA counters with, among others, Heather Locklear, James Franco and Ben Stiller.


The Bruins have sent 80 players to the NBA and 12 are active: Arron Afflalo (Orlando), Trevor Ariza (Washington), Matt Barnes (Clippers), Darren Collison (Clippers), Jordan Farmar (Lakers), Jrue Holliday (New Orleans), Ryan Hollins (Clippers), Kevin Love (Minnesota), Luc Mbah a Moute (Minnesota), Shabazz Muhammad (Minnesota), Earl Watson (Portland) and Russell Westbrook (Oklahoma City). Tulsa has sent 13 players to the NBA. None are active. The best NBA player to come out of Tulsa: Paul Pressey.


The Bruins finished the regular season with a 26-8 record, the 48th time they have won at least 20 games, including 31 times in the 39 years since John Wooden retired in 1975. With a 20-12 record, Tulsa won 20 games for the first time since 2009-10. The Golden Hurricane has won at least 20 games 21 times, with 20 of those seasons coming since 1975.


The Bruins are averaging 81.8 points a game, their highest since averaging 83.1 in 1997-98.


Jordan Adams set a Bruins record this season with 90 steals, breaking the mark of 82 set by Cameron Dollar in 1996-97.


The Bruins are 99-38 in NCAA tournament play and have won a record 11 titles. Tulsa is 12-14 and has never advanced past the Elite Eight.


Manning was named Conference USA coach of the year this season. The trophy he received is named for Gene Bartow, the former UCLA coach who also coached Alabama Birmingham from 1978 to 1996.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad