<a href="http://articles.latimes.com/2008/mar/30/image/ig-lookback30"><b>Harry Benson's watchful eye</b></a><br>
<br>
By Monica Corcoran<br>
<br>
Social snubs and prickly rivalries, no doubt, swirled through the ballroom at New York's Plaza Hotel in 1966 on the night Benson photographed <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEHST000369" title="Truman Capote" href="/topic/arts-culture/literature/truman-capote-PEHST000369.topic">Truman Capote</a>'s notorious Black & White Ball. <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB000334" title="Tallulah Bankhead" href="/topic/entertainment/tallulah-bankhead-PECLB000334.topic">Tallulah Bankhead</a> insulted <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEHST001250" title="Norman Mailer" href="/topic/arts-culture/norman-mailer-PEHST001250.topic">Norman Mailer</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB000291" title="Lauren Bacall" href="/topic/entertainment/lauren-bacall-PECLB000291.topic">Lauren Bacall</a> spurned eager dance partners, and the host himself tried to physically block the exit when <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003706" title="Frank Sinatra" href="/topic/entertainment/music/frank-sinatra-PECLB003706.topic">Frank Sinatra</a> and then-wife <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001642" title="Mia Farrow" href="/topic/entertainment/mia-farrow-PECLB001642.topic">Mia Farrow</a> departed at midnight. <a href="http://articles.latimes.com/2008/mar/30/image/ig-lookback30">Click here to continue reading this article</a>.
la-ig-lookback_jxqzjrnc2

( Harry Benson )

Harry Benson's watchful eye

By Monica Corcoran

Social snubs and prickly rivalries, no doubt, swirled through the ballroom at New York's Plaza Hotel in 1966 on the night Benson photographed Truman Capote's notorious Black & White Ball. Tallulah Bankhead insulted Norman Mailer, Lauren Bacall spurned eager dance partners, and the host himself tried to physically block the exit when Frank Sinatra and then-wife Mia Farrow departed at midnight. Click here to continue reading this article.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun