Plays and musicals have long served as source material for movies, but the coming year will feature a wealth of particularly high-profile titles and A-list talent. (Note: Not every screen adaptation retains the stage work's title.) Here's a look at several prominent projects, listed by stage production first, then film.<br>
<br>
<b>RELATED:</b> <a href="http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/news/movies/la-ca-mcnulty-movie-notebook-20120101,0,3437764.story">Critic's Notebook: When going from stage to screen, things change in between</a>
<b>RELATED:</b> <a href="http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/culturemonster/2011/08/stage-to-screen-ides-of-march-carnage-killer-joe-war-horse-and-more.html">Stage to screen, a coming torrent</a><br>
<br>
<i>Pictured, clockwise from top left: <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB0000009854" title="Constantine Maroulis" href="/topic/entertainment/constantine-maroulis-PECLB0000009854.topic">Constantine Maroulis</a> in the musical "<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORCRP013228" title="Rock of Ages Corporation" href="/topic/economy-business-finance/rock-of-ages-corporation-ORCRP013228.topic">Rock of Ages</a>" (Joan Marcus), Seth Numrich in the play "War Horse (© Paul Kolnik / <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLCUL000173" title="Lincoln Center" href="/topic/entertainment/lincoln-center-PLCUL000173.topic">Lincoln Center</a> Theater), <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001209" title="Tom Cruise" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/tom-cruise-PECLB001209.topic">Tom Cruise</a> in the film "Rock of Ages" (<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB0000011262" title="David James" href="/topic/entertainment/david-james-PECLB0000011262.topic">David James</a> / <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORCRP0000017183" title="Warner Bros." href="/topic/economy-business-finance/media-industry/movie-industry/warner-bros.-ORCRP0000017183.topic">Warner Bros.</a>), Jeremy Irvine in the film "War Horse" (Andrew Cooper / <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORCRP004709" title="DreamWorks Animation" href="/topic/economy-business-finance/dreamworks-animation-ORCRP004709.topic">DreamWorks</a>).</i>
la-et-stage-to-film

Plays and musicals have long served as source material for movies, but the coming year will feature a wealth of particularly high-profile titles and A-list talent. (Note: Not every screen adaptation retains the stage work's title.) Here's a look at several prominent projects, listed by stage production first, then film.

RELATED: Critic's Notebook: When going from stage to screen, things change in between RELATED: Stage to screen, a coming torrent

Pictured, clockwise from top left: Constantine Maroulis in the musical "Rock of Ages" (Joan Marcus), Seth Numrich in the play "War Horse (© Paul Kolnik / Lincoln Center Theater), Tom Cruise in the film "Rock of Ages" (David James / Warner Bros.), Jeremy Irvine in the film "War Horse" (Andrew Cooper / DreamWorks).

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun