'It's Complicated' vs. 'The Philadelphia Story' (1940)

The premise of two ex-spouses rekindling their romance has been a mainstay of many screwball comedies, including "The Awful Truth" and "His Girl Friday." Nancy Meyers' movie is closest in spirit to "The <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100101023010000" title="Philadelphia (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)" href="/topic/us/pennsylvania/philadelphia-county/philadelphia-%28philadelphia-pennsylvania%29-PLGEO100101023010000.topic">Philadelphia</a> Story," which was set in the same upper crust universe that <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003793" title="Meryl Streep" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/meryl-streep-PECLB003793.topic">Meryl Streep</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB000320" title="Alec Baldwin" href="/topic/entertainment/alec-baldwin-PECLB000320.topic">Alec Baldwin</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003133" title="Steve Martin" href="/topic/entertainment/steve-martin-PECLB003133.topic">Steve Martin</a> inhabit. The scene in which Streep's character and her new beau (Martin) get stoned on pot evokes the famous scene of <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB002347" title="Katharine Hepburn" href="/topic/entertainment/katharine-hepburn-PECLB002347.topic">Katharine Hepburn</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003777" title="James Stewart" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/james-stewart-PECLB003777.topic">James Stewart</a> enjoying a drunken poolside dalliance in the earlier movie. What's missing is the effortlessly witty dialogue and juicy cast of characters that made "The Philadelphia Story" (adapted by Oscar-winning writer Donald Ogden Stewart from <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEHST000138" title="Philip Barry" href="/topic/arts-culture/philip-barry-PEHST000138.topic">Philip Barry</a>'s popular play and directed by <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001215" title="George Cukor" href="/topic/entertainment/george-cukor-PECLB001215.topic">George Cukor</a>) sparkle.
la-et-complicated-philadelphia-photo

( Universal / MGM )

The premise of two ex-spouses rekindling their romance has been a mainstay of many screwball comedies, including "The Awful Truth" and "His Girl Friday." Nancy Meyers' movie is closest in spirit to "The Philadelphia Story," which was set in the same upper crust universe that Meryl Streep, Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin inhabit. The scene in which Streep's character and her new beau (Martin) get stoned on pot evokes the famous scene of Katharine Hepburn and James Stewart enjoying a drunken poolside dalliance in the earlier movie. What's missing is the effortlessly witty dialogue and juicy cast of characters that made "The Philadelphia Story" (adapted by Oscar-winning writer Donald Ogden Stewart from Philip Barry's popular play and directed by George Cukor) sparkle.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun