Get unlimited digital access to $0.99 for 4 weeks.

Earnhardt wins pole at Dover; Bowyer qualifies 23rd

Dale Earnhardt Jr. turned a track record lap of 161.849 mph to win the pole at Dover International Speedway.
The top four qualifiers Friday are all from the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship.  Points leader Matt Kenseth starts second, Ryan Newman is third and Carl Edwards fourth.
Other Chase drivers include: Jimmie Johnson starts eighth, Joey Logano 11th, Kevin Harvick 12th, Kyle Busch 14th, Jeff Gordon 16th, Greg Biffle 19th, Kasey Kahne 20th, and Clint Bowyer starts 23rd.

"This is the one track you really have to attack and be aggressive with everything," said Bowyer.   "You've got to jerk on that wheel in the center of the corner and sometimes she wants to participate and sometimes she doesn't."

Copyright © 2015, The Baltimore Sun
Related Content