In Case You Missed It: NBA in Baltimore

RG3 Puts Baylor On Heisman-Winning Map

College FootballElectionsFootballCollege SportsRobert Griffin IIITrent Richardson

Could it have been Robert Griffin III's super man socks he wore during the Heisman trophy presentation?

It was probably the unbelievable numbers the Baylor quarterback racked up to claim college football's most prestigious honor on Saturday, Dec. 10.

Griffin III, who's better known as RG3, is your 2011 Heisman trophy winner after earning 405 first-place votes (1,687 total) to beat out Stanford's Andrew luck, a Houston native, Wisconsin's Montee Ball, LSU's Tyrann Mathieu, and Alabama's Trent Richardson.

"No pressure. No diamonds. We compete. We win. We are Baylor. Baylor we are and Baylor we'll always be but it's up to us to define what that means, and this Heisman trophy is only the beginning of that process," Griffin III said during the awards ceremony.

Luck, who starred at Stratford High School, received 247 first-place votes (1,407 total), Richardson received 138 first-places votes (978 total), Ball 22 first-place votes (348 total) and Mathieu 34 (327 total).

University of Houston quarterback Case Keenum, who did not receive an invite to New York, received 10 first-place votes (123 total).

Copyright © 2014, The Baltimore Sun