Way of the Cross

First Station: Jesus is condemned to death

A survivor recalls first hearing the word "cancer."

Second Station: Jesus takes up his cross

A newly diagnosed patient wishes she could be treated as the same person.

Third Station: Jesus falls the first time

A survivor realizes that everyone deserves a second chance.

Fourth Station: Jesus meets his mother

A parent laments a child's cancer diagnosis.

Fifth Station: Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry his cross

The author expresses gratitude for the small gestures that meant the world.

Sixth Station: Veronica wipes the face of Jesus

A cancer survivor remembers a fleeting encounter that inspired her.

Seventh Station: Jesus falls a second time

A survivor tries to defeat the fear of cancer coming back.

Eighth Station: Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem

An oncology nurse reflects on the patients who inspire her.

Ninth Station: Jesus falls for a third time

A survivor reflects on her best friend's diagnosis.

10th Station: Jesus is stripped of his garments

A patient remembers losing her hair.

11th Station: Jesus is nailed to the cross

An observer encourages people to look beyond labels.

12th Station: Jesus dies on the cross

A survivor honors a friend claimed by cancer.

13th Station: Jesus is taken down from the cross

A husband honors his late wife.

14th Station: Jesus is laid in the tomb

A fan of obituaries points out that death claims people of all ages.

15th Station: Jesus rises from the dead

The narrator recalls a friend with cancer who died, but never stopped living.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad