James Madison

<a href = "http://www.courant.com/news/politics/hc-4madison,0,515207.acrobat" target ="new window"> <b>Historical Pages: Page 2 of the Feb. 22, 1809 Connecticut Courant on the election of James Madison</b></a><br>
<br>
March 16, 1751 - June 28, 1836<br>
<br>
Religion: Episcopalian<br>
<br>
Marriage: Dolley Payne Todd<br>
<br>
Military service: He was commissioned a colonel
from <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100101190000000" title="Orange County (Virginia)" href="/topic/us/virginia/orange-county-%28virginia%29-PLGEO100101190000000.topic">Orange County</a>, Va., during the War
for <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORCRP000786" title="American Independence Corporation" href="/topic/business/american-independence-corporation-ORCRP000786.topic">American Independence</a> but discharged
due to frail health before he saw any action.<br>
<br>
Term: March 4, 1809 -- March 3, 1817<br>
<br>
Vice presidents: <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001028" title="George Clinton" href="/topic/entertainment/music/george-clinton-PECLB001028.topic">George Clinton</a>, 1809-1812;
Elbridge Gerry, 1813-1814; vacant, 1814-1817<br>
<br>
Highlights of presidency:
The impressment of American sailors into
the British Navy sparked the War of 1812.
Victories on Lake Erie by Capt. Oliver Perry
and at New Orleans by Gen. <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEPLT003191" title="Andrew Jackson" href="/topic/politics/government/presidents-of-the-united-states/andrew-jackson-PEPLT003191.topic">Andrew Jackson</a>
in 1815 ended the war.<br>
<br>
Did you know?
Traditionally Madison is called the "Father
of the Constitution." He served as a U.S.
House member from Virginia, 1789-1797, and
secretary of state, 1801-1809. His nickname
was Jemmy. He is the shortest president
at 5 feet, 4 inches, and he weighed just 100
pounds. His wife, Dolley, saved <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEHST001937" title="Gilbert Stuart" href="/topic/arts-culture/gilbert-stuart-PEHST001937.topic">Gilbert Stuart</a>'s
famous painting of <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEHST002264" title="George Washington" href="/topic/politics/george-washington-PEHST002264.topic">George Washington</a>
shortly before British soldiers burned the<br>
<br>
 <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLCUL000110" title="White House" href="/topic/politics/government/executive-branch/white-house-PLCUL000110.topic">White House</a>.
hc-madison-portrait4

Historical Pages: Page 2 of the Feb. 22, 1809 Connecticut Courant on the election of James Madison

March 16, 1751 - June 28, 1836

Religion: Episcopalian

Marriage: Dolley Payne Todd

Military service: He was commissioned a colonel from Orange County, Va., during the War for American Independence but discharged due to frail health before he saw any action.

Term: March 4, 1809 -- March 3, 1817

Vice presidents: George Clinton, 1809-1812; Elbridge Gerry, 1813-1814; vacant, 1814-1817

Highlights of presidency: The impressment of American sailors into the British Navy sparked the War of 1812. Victories on Lake Erie by Capt. Oliver Perry and at New Orleans by Gen. Andrew Jackson in 1815 ended the war.

Did you know? Traditionally Madison is called the "Father of the Constitution." He served as a U.S. House member from Virginia, 1789-1797, and secretary of state, 1801-1809. His nickname was Jemmy. He is the shortest president at 5 feet, 4 inches, and he weighed just 100 pounds. His wife, Dolley, saved Gilbert Stuart's famous painting of George Washington shortly before British soldiers burned the

White House.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun