1985:Geno Auriemma won his first game as coach at Iona on Nov. 11. 1985: Jeff Bagwell left-footed a 15-foot shot into the net for his 33rd goal of the season to give Xavier-Middletown a 1-0 Class LL soccer quarterfinal victory over Newington on Nov. 11. 1985: Dick Siderowf defeated Bob Rosenthal 3 & 2 to win his record fifth Connecticut State Golf Association amateur at Wee Burn CC-Darien June 27. Siderowf, champion in 1955, '60, '65 and '84, was the first player to win back-to-back titles since Roger Hovey (1919-20). 1985: Marjory Abbott scored all three goals as UConn defeated three-time defending champion Old Dominion to win the NCAA field hockey championship 3-2 in Norfolk, Va., on Nov. 24. The Huskies won the title again in 2013, also in Norfolk, with a 2-0 victory over Duke. 1986: Yale President A. Bartlett Giamatti became National League president in 1986 and was elevated to baseball commissioner in 1989. He died of a heart attack in September 1989. 1986: Junior Tracy Lis, who became the state's top scorer her senior year with 3,681 points, scored 48 to help Killingly end Westbrook's 62-game win streak, 75-66 on Dec. 12. Lis scored 54 points in her final game, an 86-47 win over Notre Dame-Fairfield in the Class L championship.
handout art.
Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad