The deadline for submitting sports copy is 9 a.m. on Monday. We prefer email ( We do not accept results by phone. When two Howard County teams play, players from both teams (first and last names) must be mentioned in the write-up.


The Columbia Volleyball Club 14U Condors finished undefeated to win the gold medal in the Maryland Juniors 14s Mixed Tournament on March 12.  Members of the team are: Kiera Holtzclaw (Arundel Middle), Lauryn Terry (Hammond), Emma Sams (Centennial), Amanda Ross (Patapsco Middle), Amanda Voll (Catonsville High), Hope Kelly (Clarksville Middle), Kaitlin Donovan (Patapsaco Middle), Taryn Aylward (Folly Quarter Middle), Elayna Williams (Ellicott Mills Middle) and Brooke Saunderson (Hammond Middle).


Submit a Letter to the Editor for the Laurel Leader, Columbia Flier and Howard County Times

The Top Flight Mason Dixon Gymnastics Team competed at the Mason Dixon League State Championships on April 27-28 and May 12. Kayla Hess won the Level D 15 and up age division placing first in the beam, floor and all-around.

Individual results:

Sarah Cangialosi (Level B 10 year Senior) 6th Beam 8.4

Sylvia Dudek (Level B 12 year Junior) 5th Floor 9.35

Meagan Tavares (Level B 12 year Junior) 4th Beam 8.9

Naomi Lechner (Level B 12 year Senior) 3rd Beam 8.9

Gemma Lundergan (Level B 12 year Senior) 4th Beam 8.85

Faith Chisholm (Level B 13 year Senior) 5th Bars 8.1, 4th Beam, 8.5

Grace Reider (Level C 12 year Junior) 6th Bars 8.75

Taylor Mills (Level C 13 year) 4th Bars 8.65, 2nd Beam 9.65, 5th All-around 36.60

Kayla Hess (Level D 15 & up) 2nd Vault 9.3, 1st Beam 9.3, 1st Floor 9.8, 1st All-around 37.00


This week's Howard County Striders spring series award race at Burleigh Manor Middle School brought out 45 runners. Series point winners were presented with a candy bar for their efforts, with the remaining proceeds going to Boston marathon victims. Stephen Olenick and Karen Harvey were the two-mile winners, while Greg Lepore and Kendra Smith won the five-miler.

Volunteers: Amanda Loudin (race lead), Bill Arbelaez, John Bratiotis, Chad Burger, Melissa Burger, David Jun, Dwight Mikulis, Debbie Sharp, Julie Trapp


1. Stephen Olenick, 10:48; 2. Mark Loeffler, 11:27; 3. Mark Eagles, 11:57; 4. Dan Laukzemis, 13:11; 5. Rick Hughey, 13:17; 6. Mike Fleming, 15:19; 7. Kash Hartz, 15:28; 8. Ben Stein, 16:01; 9. Kenny Walker, 16:13; 10. Karen Harvey, 17:14.