Caitlin O'Brien, of Laurel, earned a Master of Art in forensic psychology in May from Marymount University, in Arlington, Va.

The following students received departmental awards for the 2010-2011 academic year at the College of Notre Dame of Maryland:

Nicole Opsitnik, of Elkridge, received the Nancy R. Schoss Award in Business;

Daniel Smith, of Sykesville, received the criminology department Award;

Submit a Letter to the Editor for the Laurel Leader, Columbia Flier and Howard County Times

Mary Ensey, of Hanover, received the chemistry department's 2011 Anne Dulea Award and was recognized as a Morrissy Honors Scholar;

Maureen Puppa, of Elkridge, received the religious studies department's Genevieve Dailey Walters Award and was inducted into Kappa Gamma Pi, the national Catholic college honor society; and

Shayna Wise, of Laurel, was inducted into Kappa Gamma Pi, the national Catholic college honor society; Pi Sigma Alpha, the political science honor society; and Phi Sigma Iota, the international foreign language honor society; and was recognized as a Morrissy Honors Scholar.

The following students have been named to the dean's list for the spring 2011 semester at Mount St. Mary's University:

Nancy Abu-Bonsrah, Ryan Brophy and Evan Oliver, all of Laurel;

Meghan Brown, Margaret Kenney, Hannah Keyes, Amy Song, Stephen Wells, Matthew Brasauskas and Patrick Perez, all of Ellicott City;

Holly Hoffmaster, of Brookeville;

Katherine Carpenter, of Clarksville;

CheMonique Veney, of Clarksville;

Nicole Vanagas, of Elkridge;

Rebecca Thiem, of Marriottsville;

Michael Keating, of Woodstock;

Jason Kymingham, of Glenwood;

Katherine Arrington, Theodore Burkhardt, Timothy Connole, Marcus Hodge, Claire Hofmann, Margaret Noel and Caitlin Weiger, all of Mount Airy,

Allison McCarron, William White and Meaghan Conlon, all of Eldersburg,

Sarah Sliviak, Jeffrey Valonis, Joshua Madden, Brent Dawson and Megan Crampton, all of Sykesville;