Nine Harford County boys lacrosse teams opened the region playoffs Wednesday with wins, advancing each into today's quarterfinal round of their respective classifications.

Wednesday's winners were Fallston, Harford Tech, Edgewood, North Harford, Patterson Mill, Havre de Grace, C. Milton Wright, Aberdeen and Bel Air.

Top seed Fallston rolled over visiting Elkton, 15-2, Wednesday in 1A-2A East, district VII section first-round action.

Zach Wheeler scored three goals to lead the Cougars, while Marc Badger, Kyle D'Onofrio, Greg Horsham, Brenden Nolan and Jeremy Scranton had two goals apiece. Taylor Brown and Chris Dunnigan also had goals.

"Like" exploreharford's Facebook page

Zack Esser and James Glezen each had two assists. D'Onofrio, Robbie Kansler, Nolan and Scranton also had assists.

Fallston goalies Caleb Abney and Mark Wollenweber each had one save.

The Cougars will host North East at 6 p.m. tonight.

Cobras beat Panthers

Harford Tech also won in 1A-2A East, district VII section first-round action, beating visiting Perryville, 16-1.

Tyler Fullem's four goals and three assists led the scoring and Dan Ashburn also scored four goals and added one assist.

Zack Valenti added three goals and four assists and Zac Taylor had two goals. Mike Mentzer, Garrett Selander and Michael Vega also had goals. Selander also had one assist.

Perryville's lone goal was scored by Cody Gerhart, with assist from Dakota Dunman.

Tech played two goalies, with Sean Klein making seven saves and Adam Smith making four.

Perryville goalie Danny Wilson made 11 saves.

Rams beat Digital Harbor

Edgewood, which failed to win a regular season game, earned its first win Wednesday, beating visiting Digital Harbor, 10-8, in 2A-3A North first-round action.

Mike Ryan and Sean Kluchinsky led the Rams with three goals each, while Jake Wilmer netted two goals. Jabriel Gant and Agi Agememnon also tallied goals for the winners.

Hawks beat Patapsco

North Harford beat visiting Patapsco, 18-1, in 2A-3A North play.

Joel Linkous, John Heaps and Max Mullin scored three goals each to lead the Hawks. Andrew Siegel and Brett Hurley scored two goals apiece and single goals were tallied by Brooks Billings, Randy Foster, Austin Ensor, Ryan Fiess and Ryan Warren.