The chief executive officer of Harford County is the county executive and heads the executive branch of the county’s government. Elected every four years, the county executive is aided by a cabinet composed of directors from 23 departments and agencies including Public Works, Treasury, Planning and Zoning, Community Services, Economic Development, and Parks and Recreation.

The seven-member Harford County Council operates as the legislative branch. Six council members are elected every four years, one from each of the county’s six voting districts. The remaining council member is elected at large to serve as council president. The panel meets in legislative session on the first three Tuesdays of each month.
The county seat in Harford County is located in downtown Bel Air. The present courthouse on Main Street was constructed in 1859 on the site of the original courthouse, which was destroyed by fire early in the same year. Little has changed to alter the appearance of the courtroom and a valuable collection of portraits of Harford Countians are on display there.

"Like" exploreharford's Facebook page

Key Harford County government contacts:
Harford County Executive
David R. Craig

Harford County Council
District A: Dion F. Guthrie
District B: Joseph M. Woods
District C: James “Capt’n Jim” McMahan
William “Billy” Boniface
District D: Chad Shrodes
District E: Richard Slutzky
District F: Mary Ann Lisanti

The City ofAberdeen