Havre de Grace election

Winners of city council seats in Tuesday's Havre de Grace election are, from left, David Glenn, Joe Smith and Bill Martin. (MATT BUTTON | RECORD STAFF, Homestead Publishing / May 9, 2012)

Voters in Havre de Grace turned out two of the three incumbents seeking seats on the six-member city council during the city's annual election Tuesday.

Incumbents Fred Cullum and Jim Miller lost their bids for new terms, while the third incumbent, Bill Martin was re-elected.

Winning council seats along with Martin were David Glenn and Joe Smith.

In all, seven candidates ran for the three seats.

"Like" exploreharford's Facebook page

The unofficial results were:

David Glenn 884

Bill Martin 822

Joe Smith 688

Fred Cullum 579

Jim Miller 410

Barry Scharbrough 372

Robert Sawyer 139

Glenn, a lifelong city resident, and Smith, Scharbrough and Sawyer, all of whom moved to Havre de Grace within the past six years, were all running for the first time.

Election officials said 1,515 people voted at St. Patrick Hall Tuesday, 18.4 percent of 8,230 who were registered. Last year, when the mayor's office was contested, the turnout was 21.8 percent.

Aside from last year, Tuesday's turnout was better than in recent years, particularly in an election with just council seats at stake.

There were 1,179 votes cast in 2010, 830 votes in 2009 – when Mayor Wayne Dougherty ran for re-election unopposed – and 1,054 votes in 2008.

There were 35 absentee ballots left to be counted Thursday; however, there weren't enough of them to alter the order of finish.

Winners laud campaign

The three winners congratulated each other after the results were announced at St. Patrick Hall, and all seemed eager to work together.

Because he had never run for office before, Glenn said he was not sure how many votes to expect.