General news photo, Matt Button, National Guardsman Says Goodbye to His Son;"

Sports feature story, Kayla Bawroski, "International Diplomacy the Ripken Way;"

Multimedia Storytelling - News, Jack Gibbons, Dan Griffin, Record News and Photo Staffs: Bobby Parker, Matt Button, Nicole Munchel; Kayla Bawroski, Kirsten Dize, Marissa Gallo and Bryna Zumer, "Waiting is Over for River Towns and Flood Waters Recede;"

Multimedia Storytelling - Sports, Jack Gibbons and Record Sports and Photography Staffs: Randy McRoberts, Dewey Fox, Nicole Munchel and Matt Button; and

"Like" exploreharford's Facebook page

General website excellence, Jack Gibbons, Joe Vassalotti and Record News & Photography Staffs.

APG News - Division F - Non-daily papers less than 10,000 circulation

1st Place - 2 awards:

Environmental reporting, Rachel Ponder, "Bluegills Monitor Treated Groundwater;" and

Page 1 design, Nick Pentz.

2nd Place - 1 award:

Special section, APG News staff, Military Appreciation Week Guide."

Other Baltimore Sun Media Group awards

In addition to awards won by its Harford County-based publications, the Baltimore Sun Media Group's other community newspapers in Baltimore, Howard and Carroll counties received a combined 55 individual and team awards over the contest's three non-daily circulation divisions.

For its staff's five first place and nine second place awards, the Howard County Times was named Newspaper of the Year in Division E for papers whose circulation is between 10,000 and 20,000.

Towson Times freelance photographer Karen Jackson received a Best in Show award for a photo series.

The Baltimore Sun received Newspaper of the Year in Division A for daily papers with a circulation of more 75,000.

The Sun's news, editorial, photography, sports, design and web staffs received 27 first place awards out of the 46 categories 26 second place awards.

The Sun's staff members also received 13 Best in Show awards.