Winners of the Conservation and Preservation Poster Contest stand with school and government officials as they are honored. Pictured, back row from left, are Rebekan Hansen, fifth grade Jarrettsville Elementary teacher; Patti Jo Beard, director of facilities management department for Harford schools; Andrew Cassilly, school system resource conservation manager; Linn Griffiths, 12th-grade North Harford High School teacher; Mary Chance, Harford County director of administration; and Rick Russell, Jarrettsville Elementary School principal. The front row (left to right): Lauren Burnham, Grant Swinehart, Issabelle Stabb, and Abby Saltzer. (December 20, 2012)

Harford County Sustainability Office, Recycling Office and Harford County Public Schools partnered for the third year to hold the Conservation and Preservation Poster Contest to raise awareness about efficiently using and reusing resources.

This year, the four themes and grade categories were identified: kindergarten through second grade, Biking and Walking; grades three to five, Water Conservation; grades six to eight, Reduce, Reuse, Recycle, Rethink; and grades nine to 12, Recycling Office logo. More than 500 poster entries were received and included participation from eight elementary schools: Forest Lakes, Hall's Cross Roads, Jarrettsville, Joppatowne, Meadowvale, Prospect Mill, Red Pump and Riverside; two middle schools: Havre de Grace and Southampton; and three high schools: Havre de Grace, Joppatowne and North Harford.

The posters were judged on artistic merit, creativity and interpretation of the assigned theme by members of the Sustainability Office and Recycling Office as well as Harford County Public Schools.

A winning poster was selected for each theme and will be reproduced and displayed in Harford County Public Schools, Harford County Government offices and the Harford County Public library branches.

"Like" exploreharford's Facebook page

The winning artists are Abby Saltzer, a second-grader at Jarrettsville Elementary; Grant Swinehart, a fifth-grader at Jarrettsville Elementary; Lauren Burnham, a seventh-grader at Southampton Middle School; and Issabelle Stabb, a 12th-grader at North Harford High School.

The students were honored among family and teachers by Mary F. Chance, Harford County's director of administration, and Patti Jo Beard, Harford County Public Schools director of the facilities management department, at the Anita C. Leight Estuary Center on Dec. 7.