In Case You Missed It: NBA in Baltimore

Westminster sets an active agenda to celebrate national parks month

Tourism and LeisureMusicFitnessNational Parks

The City of Westminster's Department of Recreation and Parks is celebrating National Parks and Recreation Month with a number of events, including these listed below.

Some are special events, others are simple suggestions to keep children and families active for the summer.

The department is also hosting a "Parks of Westminster Scavenger Hunt," which involves visiting various parks in the city for details on the hunt — or on any of the events listed below, go to http://www.westgov.com/recreation/rec_events_july.html or call 410-848-9161. 

Monday, July 16 — The Rec on the Move program will be at the Charles Street Tot Lot, 6-7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, July 17 — Fly at Kite Day at King Park, Chase Street.

Wednesday, July 18 — Take a walk at the Wakefield Valley Community Trail, Long Valley to Uniontown Road.

Thursday, July 19 — Songs at 6:30 at Mary Lou Dewey Library Park, 50 E. Main St., with performer Mason Vixon. Free.

Friday, July 20 — Free workout day at the Westminster Family Fitness Center, 11 Longwell Ave. No guest fee.

Saturday, July 21 — Free snowballs at city parks, courtesy of the City of Westminster Recreation and Parks Department.

Sunday, July 22 — Month of Sundays Summer Concert, 6:45 p.m., at Westminster City Park, with Patty Reese. Free, with the donation of a personal care item for Human Services Programs of Carroll County Inc.

Monday, July 23 — The Rec on the Move program will be at the Whispering Meadows Community Park playground, Whispering Meadows Drive, 6-7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, July 24 — Go for a swim at Westminster Municipal Pool, 325 Royer Road. Call 410-857-5633 or 410-848-9161 for fees.

Wednesday, July 25 — Take kids to the park, at Whispering Meadows Community Park, Whispering Meadows Drive.

Thursday, July 26 — Songs at 6:30 at Mary Lou Dewey Library Park, 50 E. Main St., with performer Bone Dri. Free. 

Friday, July 27 — Tie Dye Party at Westminster Municipal Pool, 325 Royer Road, 6-8 p.m. Bring an item to tie dye for $1 each or buy a T-shirt ($5 for adults, $3 for kids), plus a free snowball, games and prizes. Regular pool admission rates apply. Call 410-848-9161. 

Saturday, July 28 — Discount day at Westminster Municipal Pool, 325 Royer Road. Pay one regular gate fee and get one free. Call 410-848-9161 or 410-857-5633. 

Sunday, July 29 — Month of Sundays Summer Concert, 6:45 p.m., at Westminster City Park, with The Fabulous Hubcaps. Free, with the donation of a personal care item for Human Services Programs of Carroll County Inc.

Monday, July 30 — The Rec on the Move program will be at the Greens Tot Lot, behind Westminster Municipal Pool, 325 Royer Road, 6-7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, July 31 — scavenger hunt forms are due on this day in order to claim a prize.

Copyright © 2014, The Baltimore Sun
Related Content
Tourism and LeisureMusicFitnessNational Parks
Comments
Loading