Indoor track: Baltimore County Championships

Tess Vance of Hereford gets ready to throw in the girls shot put final. (Brian Krista, Patuxent Publishing / January 24, 2012)

The Hereford girls (103 points) cruised past runner-up Franklin (74.5) to capture their sixth straight Baltimore County indoor track and field championship Tuesday night at the Fifth Regiment Armory.

Not to be outdone, the Hereford boys (91 points ) tacked on a third straight county crown by beating a Franklin team (54) that had beaten the Bulls in two-regular-season meets and three invitationals.

"I think this is the best team we have ever had," Hereford girls coach Brad Duvall said. "We have such a diverse group. We have the ability to score three-deep in almost every event, from the 500 (meters) up and in every relay."

Senior Emily VandeWater paced the Bulls, garnering titles in the 800 (2 minutes, 27.90 seconds) and 1,600 meters (5:25.20) while running a leg on the 1,600 relay team (4:22.70).

"Like" explorebaltimorecounty's Facebook page

VandeWater led from start to finish in the 800.

"I wanted to take it out hard because I needed a fast pace, and basically just hang on through the middle," she said. Sophomore Sara Carter posted Hereford's other individual title (3,200, 11:41.20).

Western Tech sophomore Sharon Dorsey turned in a standout performance, taking championships in the 300 (42.20) and 500 (1:21.80). "She has such a fight in her," Western Tech girls coach Shedrick Elliott said, noting there were only 15 minutes between the races. "I didn't know what to expect out of her with the short amount of rest between events."

The Milford Mill 800 relay team, Medinan Spencer, Mykael Dixon, Toni Brown and Racquel Moss, set a meet record (1:48.50) and Moses broke a 23-year-old record in the 55 hurdles (8.47).

The Hereford boys' best event was the 3,200, which netted 20 points behind winning junior Jon Luckin (10:21.50), who also took top honors in the 1,600 (4:38.60).

Julian Rivera was second and Kevin Collins was fifth in the 3,200.

"My guys just came up big today," Hereford boys coach Jason Bowman said. "That 3,200 was it. Going in, I was hoping for maybe 10 points and we came out with 20. That was huge."

Hereford's Matt Lehnert added a victory in the 800 (2:08.10) as did Kevin Payne in the pole vault (12-6) and Graham Hensley in the shot put (44-4 1/4).

Additional girls winners

55-meter dash: Mykael Dixon (7.44), Milford Mill.

1,600-meter relay: Morgan Oakley, Sarah Ashwood, Emily VandeWater, Bailey Wilhelm (4:22.70), Hereford.

3,200-meter relay: Rennie Tankersley, Erin Causey, Morgan Oakley, Sara Carter (10:16.0), Hereford.

High jump: Rayven Ray (5-feet), Kenwood.

Pole vault: Abby Wenck (8-6), Hereford.

Shot put: Christine Agories (30-11.5), Franklin.

Additional boys winners