Become a digitalPLUS subscriber. 99¢ for 4 weeks.

Tribeca fetes vampires

New York's Tribeca Film Festival announced the winners of its jury awards, with the Swedish-made coming-of-age/vampire film "Let the Right One In" winning the Founders Award for best narrative feature.

Other top awards went to Huseyin Karabey as best new narrative filmmaker for "My Marlon and Brando," based on the true story of two actors (a Turk and a Kurd, playing themselves in the film) who fall in love on a film set but are then separated by war.

"Pray the Devil Back to Hell," a documentary about a group of women who rose up to force peace in war-torn Liberia, was awarded best documentary feature.

The Tribeca fest, which this year included 121 films and 79 shorts from 41 countries, kicked off April 24 and runs through May 4, when the audience award will be announced. The following is a complete list of the juried winners:

The Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature - "Let the Right One In" (Lat den rätte komma in) directed by Tomas Alfredson (Sweden).

Best New Narrative Filmmaker - "My Marlon and Brando" (Gitmek) directed by Hüseyin Karabey (Turkey, Netherlands, UK).

Best Actor in a Narrative Feature Film - Thomas Turgoose and Piotr Jagiello in "Somers Town" directed by Shane Meadows (UK).

Best Actress in a Narrative Feature Film - Eileen Walsh in "Eden" directed by Declan Recks (Ireland).

Best Documentary Feature - "Pray the Devil Back to Hell" directed by Gini Reticker (USA).

Best New Documentary Filmmaker - "Old Man Bebo" directed by Carlos Carcas (Spain).

New York LOVES Film - "Zoned In" directed by Daniela Zanzotto (USA, UK).

Special Mention: "Hotel Gramercy Park" directed by Douglas Keeve (USA).

"Made In NY" - Narrative - "The Caller" directed by Richard Ledes (USA).

Best Narrative Short - "New Boy" directed by Steph Green.

Best Documentary Short - "Mandatory Service" directed by Jessica Habie.

Student Visionary Award - "Elephant Garden" directed by Sasie Sealy.

Cadillac Award - Winner to be chosen by the Audience and will be announced on WNBC-TV on Saturday, May 3rd. Winner receives $25,000 cash and the art award "Peripheral Drift Illusion," created by Ryan McGinness, as well as a trophy created by Cadillac.

Copyright © 2014, The Baltimore Sun