Over the summer, NBC auditioned several the network's stars to sing the theme song for "Sunday Night Football." After watching this collection from the open auditions, you'll see why Carrie Underwood was chosen.

When NBC's "Sunday Night Football" debuts Sept. 8, Carrie Underwood will be singing the theme song with the help of 13 NFL players.

OK, that's the "big" news coming from the NBC Sports Group today, but the better news is the list of NBC stars who will not be performing "Waiting All Day For Sunday Night." Over the summer, NBC had open auditions to find the perfect voice to sing the song, and created a compilation video showcasing the "talents" of stars Heidi Klum, Howie Mandel, Joan and Melissa Rivers, Matt Lauer, Savannah Guthrie, Al Roker, Natalie Morales, Jillian Michaels, Billy Bush, Ken Jeong, Mika Brzezinski, Joe Scarborough, Yvette Nicole Brown and Craig T. Nelson.

The best bit from the video above? When "Community" star Jeong says "K. Jeong auditioning for sniff audition." He's reading off the clapper board, which reads "SNF Audition."

Honestly, I think Jeong should have been hired, just like he does. But Underwood is taking over Faith Hill, and on Sept. 8 will be joined by the following list of NFL players for her performance.


The Sept. 8 broadcast of "SNF" pits the Dallas Cowboys against NFC East rivals the New York Giants, beginning at 6 p.m. CT on NBC. Below is the schedule from NBC, which does not include the Sept. 5 NFL Kickoff broadcast between the Baltimore Ravens and Denver Broncos or the Nov. 28 game between Pittsburgh Steelers and Baltimore Ravens. Because those are Thursday games.

2013 SUNDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL SCHEDULE
Sun. Sept. 8 New York Giants at Dallas Cowboys
Sun. Sept. 15 San Francisco 49ers at Seattle Seahawks
Sun. Sept. 22 Chicago Bears at Pittsburgh Steelers
Sun. Sept. 29 New England Patriots at Atlanta Falcons
Sun. Oct. 6 Houston Texans at San Francisco 49ers
Sun. Oct. 13 Washington Redskins at Dallas Cowboys
Sun. Oct. 20 Denver Broncos at Indianapolis Colts
Sun. Oct. 27 Green Bay Packers at Minnesota Vikings
Sun. Nov. 3 Indianapolis Colts at Houston Texans
Sun. Nov. 10 Dallas Cowboys at New Orleans Saints
Sun. Nov. 17 Green Bay Packers at New York Giants
Sun. Nov. 24 Denver Broncos at New England Patriots
Sun. Dec. 1 New York Giants at Washington Redskins
Sun. Dec. 8 Atlanta Falcons at Green Bay Packers
Sun. Dec. 15 Cincinnati Bengals at Pittsburgh Steelers
Sun. Dec. 22 New England Patriots at Baltimore Ravens
Sun. Dec. 29 TBA


Want more? Discuss this article and others on Show Patrol's Facebook page