'The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey'

More than a decade after <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB002550" title="Peter Jackson" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/peter-jackson-PECLB002550.topic">Peter Jackson</a> brought "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring" to the big screen in 2001, the director is returning to Middle-earth with a two-film adaptation of "<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ENMV0000205" title="The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/the-hobbit%3A-an-unexpected-journey-ENMV0000205.topic">The Hobbit</a>," which J. R. R. Tolkien wrote before his "The Lord of the Rings" trilogy. The first part, scheduled for release Dec. 12, 2012, follows Frodo's uncle, Bilbo Baggins (<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB0000007975" title="Martin Freeman" href="/topic/entertainment/martin-freeman-PECLB0000007975.topic">Martin Freeman</a>, above), as he <a href="http://herocomplex.latimes.com/2011/12/20/hobbit-trailer-brings-back-the-magic-and-not-just-for-fans/" target="_blank">joins a group of dwarfs</a> on a quest to reclaim treasure stolen from them by a dragon. Fans of the fantasy series are anxious to see more of already-familiar characters, including Gandalf (<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003185" title="Ian McKellen" href="/topic/entertainment/ian-mckellen-PECLB003185.topic">Ian McKellen</a>), Legolas (<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB005389" title="Orlando Bloom" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/orlando-bloom-PECLB005389.topic">Orlando Bloom</a>) and Gollum (<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB0000005394" title="Andy Serkis" href="/topic/entertainment/andy-serkis-PECLB0000005394.topic">Andy Serkis</a>), as well as new characters from the book, such as Thorin Oakenshield (<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB000219" title="Richard L Armitage" href="/topic/entertainment/richard-l-armitage-PECLB000219.topic">Richard Armitage</a>), the dragon Smaug (<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB0000005528" title="Benedict Cumberbatch" href="/topic/entertainment/benedict-cumberbatch-PECLB0000005528.topic">Benedict Cumberbatch</a>) and the Elves of Mirkwood.

( James Fisher / New Line Cinema / Warner Bros. / July 4, 2012 )

More than a decade after Peter Jackson brought "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring" to the big screen in 2001, the director is returning to Middle-earth with a two-film adaptation of "The Hobbit," which J. R. R. Tolkien wrote before his "The Lord of the Rings" trilogy. The first part, scheduled for release Dec. 12, 2012, follows Frodo's uncle, Bilbo Baggins (Martin Freeman, above), as he joins a group of dwarfs on a quest to reclaim treasure stolen from them by a dragon. Fans of the fantasy series are anxious to see more of already-familiar characters, including Gandalf (Ian McKellen), Legolas (Orlando Bloom) and Gollum (Andy Serkis), as well as new characters from the book, such as Thorin Oakenshield (Richard Armitage), the dragon Smaug (Benedict Cumberbatch) and the Elves of Mirkwood.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery
Find it fast

ENTERTAINMENT VIDEOS