Revel in Baltimore's status as the 29th best sports town in America

For the second year in a row, Baltimore has been ranked as the 29th best sports town in the U.S. by The Sporting News. Sure, we should do better, but until the Orioles kick it up a notch... Still, 29 (down from 28 in 2009) ain't all that bad. And while area pro teams are either off today or between seasons, there are plenty of sports-related ways to spend the day. You could watch the <a href="http://findlocal.baltimoresun.com/listings/towson-university-baltimore">Towson University</a> softball team play UMBC (2 p.m. at the Towson U softball complex) or the <a href="http://findlocal.baltimoresun.com/listings/johns-hopkins-university-homewood-campus-baltimore"><a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="OREDU0000116" title="Johns Hopkins University" href="/topic/education/colleges-universities/johns-hopkins-university-OREDU0000116.topic">Johns Hopkins University</a></a> women's lacrosse squad take on <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000640" title="Loyola Greyhounds" href="/topic/sports/college-sports/loyola-greyhounds-ORSPT000640.topic">Loyola</a> (7 p.m. on the Homewood campus), you could visit <a href="http://findlocal.baltimoresun.com/listings/sports-legends-at-camden-yards-baltimore"><a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORCUL000060" title="Sports Legends at Camden Yards" href="/topic/sports/sports-legends-at-camden-yards-ORCUL000060.topic">Sports Legends at Camden Yards</a></a> or the <a href="http://findlocal.baltimoresun.com/listings/babe-ruth-birthplace-and-museum-baltimore"><a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLCUL000119" title="Babe Ruth Birthplace and Museum" href="/topic/sports/baseball/babe-ruth-birthplace-museum-PLCUL000119.topic">Babe Ruth Birthplace and Museum</a></a>, or you could down a few at <a href="http://findlocal.baltimoresun.com/listings/pickles-pub-baltimore">Pickles Pub</a>, just across the street from <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLCUL000207" title="Oriole Park at Camden Yards" href="/topic/sports/baseball/oriole-park-at-camden-yards-PLCUL000207.topic">Oriole Park at Camden Yards</a>.<br>
<br>
Photo: The Ravens' <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLCUL000177" title="M&amp;amp;T Bank Stadium" href="/topic/sports/football/m%26t-bank-stadium-PLCUL000177.topic">M&T Bank Stadium</a> (foreground) and Oriole Park at Camden Yards (Background).

For the second year in a row, Baltimore has been ranked as the 29th best sports town in the U.S. by The Sporting News. Sure, we should do better, but until the Orioles kick it up a notch... Still, 29 (down from 28 in 2009) ain't all that bad. And while area pro teams are either off today or between seasons, there are plenty of sports-related ways to spend the day. You could watch the Towson University softball team play UMBC (2 p.m. at the Towson U softball complex) or the Johns Hopkins University women's lacrosse squad take on Loyola (7 p.m. on the Homewood campus), you could visit Sports Legends at Camden Yards or the Babe Ruth Birthplace and Museum, or you could down a few at Pickles Pub, just across the street from Oriole Park at Camden Yards.

Photo: The Ravens' M&T Bank Stadium (foreground) and Oriole Park at Camden Yards (Background).

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery
Find it fast

ENTERTAINMENT VIDEOS