Teel Time: ACC basketball coaching tenures lag behind

Eight days ago I wrote a print column on the unprecedented turnover – seven changes in the last three offseasons -- among ACC basketball coaches. Little did anyone know that the biggest boot had yet to drop.

Maryland’s Gary Williams, he of the Hall of Fame credentials, retired Thursday at age 66 after 33 years as a head coach, the final 22 at his alma mater.

Williams’ stunning exit leaves ACC basketball with just four head coaches who have been on the job more than two seasons: Duke’s Mike Krzyzewski with 31, Florida State’s Leonard Hamilton nine, and North Carolina’s Roy Williams and Virginia Tech’s Seth Greenberg eight each.

Yes, after a mere two years on the case, Virginia’s Tony Bennett ranks fifth among the conference’s 12 big whistles in seniority.

Clearly, the turnover is a primary culprit in the league’s recent decline, and it prompted a question: How much change have the other power conferences seen?

So here are the coaches, broken down by last season’s league affiliation, with more than two seasons at their current school:

Southeastern (6 of 12): Florida’s Billy Donovan, Vanderbilt’s Kevin Stallings, South Carolina’s Darrin Horn, Mississippi State’s Rick Stansbury, Mississippi’s Andy Kennedy, LSU’s Trent Johnson.

Big 12 (7 of 12): Kansas’ Bill Self, Texas’ Rick Barnes, Texas A&M’s Mark Turgeon (reportedly on Maryland’s radar as a possible Williams replacement), Kansas State’s Frank Martin, Baylor’s Scott Drew, Oklahoma State’s Travis Ford, Nebraska’s Doc Sadler.

Pacific 10 (6 of 10): UCLA’s Ben Howland, Washington’s Lorenzo Romar, Stanford’s Johnny Dawkins, Arizona State’s Herb Sendek, Oregon State’s Craig Robinson, Cal’s Mike Montgomery.

Big East (11 of 16): Pitt’s Jamie Dixon, Notre Dame’s Mike Brey, Syracuse’s Jim Boeheim, Louisville’s Rick Pitino, West Virginia’s Bob Huggins, Georgetown’s John Thompson III, Connecticut’s Jim Calhoun, Marquette’s Buzz Williams, Cincinnati’s Mick Cronin, Villanova’s Jay Wright, South Florida’s Stan Heath.

Big Ten (10 of 11): Ohio State’s Thad Matta, Purdue’s Matt Painter, Wisconsin’s Bo Ryan, Michigan’s John Beilein, Illinois’ Bruce Weber, Michigan State’s Tom Izzo, Penn State’s Ed DeChellis, Northwestern’s Bill Carmody, Minnesota’s Tubby Smith and Indiana’s Tom Crean.

After winning the first 10 ACC-Big Ten Challenges, the ACC has lost the last two. Coincidence?

I think not.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad