Thursday's local interest college basketball roundup: Kelley scores 1,000th ODU point as Lady Monarchs sink Navy in WNIT first round

Staff, wire reports



On the night when she became just the fifth Lady Monarch ever to score 1,000 points in two seasons, Shae Kelley scored 22 points and grabbed 13 rebounds to lead Old Dominion past Navy 68-60 at Constant Center in the first round of the Women’s National Invitation Tournament.

ODU was playing without the injured Galaisha Goodhope, but point guard Michelle Brandao filled in well. She had nine assists, eight points and four rebounds.

A 9-2 run gave ODU a 57-53 lead, and the Lady Monarchs didn’t relinquish it.

Navy (24-8) got 17 points from Bauer and 14 points, eight assists and six rebounds from Membreno.

The Tanner sisters — Tra’cee and Tyrese — scored 17 points apiece as Auburn (18-14) rolled to a 78-64 home win over Furman to earn the right to play host to ODU in the second round Monday. That will mean a coaching matchup between two Peninsula District graduates: ODU’s Karen Barefoot of Menchville High and Auburn’s Terri Williams-Flournoy of Phoebus. ...

Host Princeton defeated VCU 94-76, ending the memorable career of Robyn Parks, who scored 25 points to lead the Rams. Jessica Pellechio added 17. The Tigers, four of whom scored at least 18 points, shot 50 percent from the field. ...

Stetson earned a 70-63 win at Miami, ending the season of former Hampton Roads Academy and Woodside High star Adrienne Motley, who made the ACC All-Freshman team. ...

Rutgers ousted Colonial Athletic Association regular-season and tournament runner-up Delaware 65-61 in Piscataway, N.J.

The Blue Hens finished 20-11. The Scarlet Knights will face Harvard, which edged Iona 90-89.


The College of Charleston, which placed third in the CAA in its first season in that league, defeated visiting South Carolina Upstate 85-71 in the Women’s Basketball Invitational first round.


Coach of Year candidates:

Virginia’s Tony Bennett was named a finalist for the 2014 Naismith Men’s College Coach of the Year, announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

Joining Bennett as finalists were John Beilein (Michigan), Larry Brown (Southern Methodist), Billy Donovan (Florida) and Roanoke native Gregg Marshall (Wichita State), a Randolph-Macon College graduate.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad