Roland Burris becomes Illinois' senator

<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORGOV0000001" title="United States" href="/topic/politics/government/national-government/united-states-ORGOV0000001.topic">U.S.</a> Senator-designate <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEPLT000007550" title="Roland Burris" href="/topic/crime-law-justice/roland-burris-PEPLT000007550.topic">Roland Burris</a> (D-Ill.) and Assistant Senate Majority Leader <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEPLT007474" title="Dick Durbin" href="/topic/politics/government/dick-durbin-PEPLT007474.topic">Dick Durbin</a> (D-Ill.) walk toward the Senate Chamber underneath a painting of <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEHST002241" title="Abraham Lincoln" href="/topic/politics/government/presidents-of-the-united-states/abraham-lincoln-PEHST002241.topic">Abraham Lincoln</a> signing the Emancipation Proclamation before Vice President <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEPLT007400" title="Dick Cheney" href="/topic/politics/government/dick-cheney-PEPLT007400.topic">Dick Cheney</a> swore Burris into the Senate at a ceremony in the Old Senate Chamber at the U.S. Capitol on Jan. 15, 2009, in <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100101200000000" title="Washington, DC" href="/topic/us/washington-dc-PLGEO100101200000000.topic">Washington, D.C</a>. Burris was appointed by <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100100500000000" title="Illinois" href="/topic/us/illinois-PLGEO100100500000000.topic">Illinois</a> <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEPLT007479" title="Rod Blagojevich" href="/topic/politics/government/rod-blagojevich-PEPLT007479.topic">Gov. Rod Blagojevich</a> to fill the seat vacated by President-elect <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEPLT007408" title="Barack Obama" href="/topic/politics/government/barack-obama-PEPLT007408.topic">Barack Obama</a>.
chi-podburrisa20090115144415

( Getty Images photo by Chip Somodevilla / January 15, 2009 )

U.S. Senator-designate Roland Burris (D-Ill.) and Assistant Senate Majority Leader Dick Durbin (D-Ill.) walk toward the Senate Chamber underneath a painting of Abraham Lincoln signing the Emancipation Proclamation before Vice President Dick Cheney swore Burris into the Senate at a ceremony in the Old Senate Chamber at the U.S. Capitol on Jan. 15, 2009, in Washington, D.C. Burris was appointed by Illinois Gov. Rod Blagojevich to fill the seat vacated by President-elect Barack Obama.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun