Apollo 11 liftoff

The huge, 363-foot tall Apollo 11 Spacecraft 107/Lunar Module S/Saturn 506 space vehicle is launched from Pad A, Launch Complex 39 at Kennedy Space Center , at 9:32 a.m. (EDT) on July 16, 2009. Onboard Apollo 11 were astronauts Neil A. Armstrong, commander; Michael Collins, command module pilot; and Edwin E. Aldrin, Jr., lunar module pilot. Apollo 11 was the United States' first lunar landing mission. While astronauts Armstrong and Aldrin descended in the Lunar Module (LM) "Eagle" to explore the Sea of Tranquility region of the Moon, astronaut Collins remained with the Command and Service Modules "Columbia" in lunar-orbit.

NASA photo
Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad