BEST: Bears 39, Saints 14 (NFC Championship)

Arguably the best win of <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008481" title="Lovie Smith" href="/topic/sports/football/lovie-smith-PESPT008481.topic">Lovie Smith</a>'s tenure, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000036" title="Chicago Bears" href="/topic/sports/football/chicago-bears-ORSPT000036.topic">the Bears</a> exploded for 25 unanswered points after <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008576" title="Reggie Bush" href="/topic/sports/football/reggie-bush-PESPT008576.topic">Reggie Bush</a> taunted <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008387" title="Brian Urlacher" href="/topic/sports/football/brian-urlacher-PESPT008387.topic">Brian Urlacher</a>. The win set up a <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVSPR000004" title="Super Bowl" href="/topic/sports/football/super-bowl-EVSPR000004.topic">Super Bowl</a> XLI matchup with Indianapolis, making Smith and good friend Tony Dungy of the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000159" title="Baltimore Colts" href="/topic/sports/football/baltimore-colts-ORSPT000159.topic">Colts</a> the first black head coaches to lead their teams to the Super Bowl. "It means quite a bit for me," Smith said. "Our players knew about it, and they wanted to help us make history. I feel blessed to be in that position, but I'll feel even better to be the first black coach to hold up the (Lombardi Trophy)."
chi-loviebest20100104171612

( Jonathan Daniel, Getty Images / January 21, 2007 )

Arguably the best win of Lovie Smith's tenure, the Bears exploded for 25 unanswered points after Reggie Bush taunted Brian Urlacher. The win set up a Super Bowl XLI matchup with Indianapolis, making Smith and good friend Tony Dungy of the Colts the first black head coaches to lead their teams to the Super Bowl. "It means quite a bit for me," Smith said. "Our players knew about it, and they wanted to help us make history. I feel blessed to be in that position, but I'll feel even better to be the first black coach to hold up the (Lombardi Trophy)."

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun