Lewis "Scooter" Libby

<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB005324" title="Lewis Libby" href="/topic/politics/government/lewis-libby-PECLB005324.topic">Lewis "Scooter" Libby</a> was a leaker and a poet. The chief of staff to Vice President <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEPLT007400" title="Dick Cheney" href="/topic/politics/government/dick-cheney-PEPLT007400.topic">Dick Cheney</a> divulged the fact that <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB005433" title="Valerie Plame Wilson" href="/topic/politics/valerie-plame-wilson-PECLB005433.topic">Valerie Plame</a>, wife of a <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLCUL000110" title="White House" href="/topic/politics/government/executive-branch/white-house-PLCUL000110.topic">White House</a> critic, worked for the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORGOV000009" title="Central Intelligence Agency" href="/topic/politics/espionage-intelligence/central-intelligence-agency-ORGOV000009.topic">CIA</a>. Libby went to jail for perjury, but his sentence was commuted by <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEPLT000857" title="George W. Bush" href="/topic/politics/government/presidents-of-the-united-states/george-w.-bush-PEPLT000857.topic">President George W. Bush</a>. Also jailed was <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORCRP010822" title="The New York Times" href="/topic/arts-culture/mass-media/news-media/the-new-york-times-ORCRP010822.topic">New York Times</a> reporter Judith Miller, who refused to identify Libby as a source. When Libby freed Miller from her pledge, he wrote vividly, "You went to jail in the summer. It is fall now. … Out West, where you vacation, the aspens will already be turning. They turn in clusters, because their roots connect them. Come back to work - and life."
chi-leaks26libby20120223160319

( Brendan Smialowski, Bloomberg News / June 14, 2007 )

Lewis "Scooter" Libby was a leaker and a poet. The chief of staff to Vice President Dick Cheney divulged the fact that Valerie Plame, wife of a White House critic, worked for the CIA. Libby went to jail for perjury, but his sentence was commuted by President George W. Bush. Also jailed was New York Times reporter Judith Miller, who refused to identify Libby as a source. When Libby freed Miller from her pledge, he wrote vividly, "You went to jail in the summer. It is fall now. … Out West, where you vacation, the aspens will already be turning. They turn in clusters, because their roots connect them. Come back to work - and life."

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery