Kerry Wood's 20-strikeout game ball

On May 6, 1998, a misty day at <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLTRA0000169" title="Wrigley Field" href="/topic/sports/baseball/wrigley-field-PLTRA0000169.topic">Wrigley Field</a>, the 20-year-old rookie fanned 20 <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000013" title="Houston Astros" href="/topic/sports/baseball/houston-astros-ORSPT000013.topic">Astros</a> to tie <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT001331" title="Roger Clemens" href="/topic/sports/baseball/roger-clemens-PESPT001331.topic">Roger Clemens</a>' record for most strikeouts in a game. Wood threw 122 pitches, gave up one hit, hit batter Craig Biggio and went the distance in the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000165" title="Chicago Cubs" href="/topic/sports/baseball/chicago-cubs-ORSPT000165.topic">Cubs</a>’ 2-0 win.<br>
<br>
The next day, Cubs equipment manager Yosh Kawano, a close friend of <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB004170" title="Harry Caray" href="/topic/sports/harry-caray-PECLB004170.topic">Harry Caray</a>’s delivered the ball in a paper bag to the broadcaster’s restaurant. It's now on display at the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLTRA0000140" title="Navy Pier" href="/topic/travel/tourism-leisure/navy-pier-PLTRA0000140.topic">Navy Pier</a> location.
chi-kerrywood20110715131806

( Chris Walker, Chicago Tribune / July 7, 2011 )

On May 6, 1998, a misty day at Wrigley Field, the 20-year-old rookie fanned 20 Astros to tie Roger Clemens' record for most strikeouts in a game. Wood threw 122 pitches, gave up one hit, hit batter Craig Biggio and went the distance in the Cubs’ 2-0 win.

The next day, Cubs equipment manager Yosh Kawano, a close friend of Harry Caray’s delivered the ball in a paper bag to the broadcaster’s restaurant. It's now on display at the Navy Pier location.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun