Goodman announces 2013-14 Playwrights Unit

Tribune reporter

The Goodman Theatre announced the members of its 2013-14 Playwrights Unit, a year-long new play development program, on Wednesday afternoon.

Andrew Hinderaker ("Suicide, Incorporated"), a Gift Theatre ensemble member, Mickle Maher ("The Strangerer"), co-founder of Theater Oobleck, Anne García-Romero ("Santa Concepcion"), a Chicago Dramatists resident playwright and Laura Schellhardt ("Auctioning the Ainsleys"), professor of undergraduate playwriting at Northwestern University, make up the group. The culmination of the Playwrights Unit is public readings of the participants' new plays in summer 2014.

On Wednesday, The Goodman also announced Erica Weiss, associate artistic director of Route 66 Theatre Company, as the recipient of the 2013-14 Michael Maggio Directing Fellow for Chicago-based directors. 

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad